Last hope for Titanic five as rescue mission enters final hours

Submarine Titanic. PIC INDEPENDENT.CO.UK
Submarine Titanic. PIC INDEPENDENT.CO.UK

Story by Martin Robinson, Chief Reporter For Mailonline:Last hope for Titanic five as rescue mission enters final hours: French vessel carrying deep-sea diving robot reaches search zone with missing sub's oxygen supply running out at 12.08pm (7.08am EST) - as map shows ships scrambling to site to join frantic hunt.

A French ship viewed as the last hope of finding the missing Titanic submersible has crossed the Atlantic and is at the search zone ready to drop its remote-controlled sub to find five missing adventurers - but their oxygen is expected to run out at Midday today.

The vanished vessel, Titan, lost communication with tour operators on Sunday while about 435 miles south of St John's, Newfoundland, during a voyage to the Titanic off the coast of Canada. The last 'ping' of its homing device was heard on Sunday afternoon - directly above the world's most famous seawreck. A countdown has now begun with the vital oxygen supply expected to run out at 12.08pm GMT (7.08am EST and 9.08pm Sydney) with a 'miracle' now needed to find it in time as banging every 30 minutes is still being heard from the depths but has not been located.

Editor's Comment
CoA brings sanity to DIS/DCEC long-standing feud

This decision follows the raiding of the office of the former Director General of the DCEC, Tymon Katlholo early 2022 and his staff officer by the DIS operatives who reportedly took files that they had targeted.After all back and forth arguments, the CoA has set the record straight giving an invaluable lesson to the DIS that it was no super security organ and it does not have any powers to cogently supervise other security organs including the...

Have a Story? Send Us a tip
arrow up