End of year opportunities for writers

Let’s end the year on a bang by submitting some stories and applying for a writers’ residence or two- what do you think? Here are some fantastic opportunities for writers and even one for all types of artists!

1. Granta Magazine

Granta was founded in 1889 at Cambridge University and is one of the most prestigious literary magazines around, publishing the best of new writing. They are now open for submissions until April 1, 2016. They accept fiction, nonfiction and poetry. There is no word count guidelines, but the prose normally accepted for publication is between 3,000-6,000 words, You can visit their website to read the kind of work that they’re looking for. (http://granta.com/) Submissions are made online at Submittable.

2. Writers Residencies at Artists in Residency (AIR)

Artists across all art fields are invited to apply for residencies through AIR. AIR provides air fare to the chosen residencies. There are available residencies in: Australia, Brazil, Spain, India, Kenya, Tanzania, Italy and USA. Each residency has different requirements and offers different packages, so please check their website here: http://www.africacentre.net/artists-in-residency/.

3. Albedo One and Albedo 2.0

Albedo One is a sci-fi/fantasy/horror genre print magazine and Albedo 2.0 is the online edition. All submissions are considered for both. They’re looking for thoughtful, well-written fiction. Their definition of what constitutes science fiction, horror and fantasy is extremely wide. All authors receive a complimentary print and pdf copy of the issue their story appears in. They pay six euro per 1,000 words up to 8,000 words. Preferred length of stories is between 2,500 and 8,000 words. For email        submissions: [email protected] Submissions may be pasted into the body of your email, or may be submitted as an attachment in .rtf format (no .docx please). The subject line should say: Fiction Submission: Name of Story

4. Anthology of Queer Fiction

MaThoko’s Books in South Africa invites writers to submit short stories of 2,000 – 6,000 words on a queer African theme by January 31, 2016 for their new anthology:  Queer Africa II: New and Collected Fiction, following the international success of Queer Africa: New and Collected Fiction.  They invite writers to submit for consideration short stories on a queer African theme. Stories will again be selected and edited by Karen Martin and Makhosazana Xaba.

Submission Information: Stories should be 2,000-6,000 words and submitted to [email protected] by January 31, 2016. Please provide a covering page with the title of the story, your full name, email address, telephone number and a bio of no more than 100 words.  All submissions will be acknowledged, and the final selection will be made by April 30, 2016.

5. Morland Scholarship for African Writers

If you’re a writer who has a book idea but no time to write it and no chance to take off work to find the time, the Morland scholarship may be exactly what you need.

They choose three fiction writers and one nonfiction writer each year. Fiction writers receive 18,000 British pounds and nonfiction writers receive 27,000 British pounds, each allocated monthly. The writers are required to submit 10,000 words each month to the committee.

To apply for the Morland Scholarship 2016 writers must provide via email:

A sample piece of published prose between 2,000 and 5,000 words. This can be an individual piece or an extract from a longer work.

A description of up to 500 words of the project they would complete if successful in their application. This must be a new work, not a work in progress.

A brief biography of between 200 and 300 words about their background. The organisers advise to include in this ‘anything in your background suggesting that you have the ability and discipline to write a full-length book.’

Applications close on October 31, 2015. The successful writers will be announced in December and commence their scholarship in 2016. For full entry details visit the Miles Morland Foundation website at http://www.milesmorlandfoundation.com/morlandwritingscholarship.html

6. Commonwealth Short Story Prize

The deadline for the 2016 Commonwealth Short Story Prize is November, 1, 2015. Submissions are made online at www.commonwealthwriters.org. The total prize money is 15,000 British pounds with the overall winner taking 5,000, and the regional winners getting 2,000 each. Only one entry per person is accepted and the word count should be from 2,000- 5,000 words. There are many specific guidelines regarding formatting, so make sure to read the submission guidelines. Check their website  (http://www.commonwealthwriters.org/our-projects/the-short-story/). 

Editor's Comment
Escalating fuel prices cause panic

Nowadays it is not uncommon to purchase an item for a certain commodity and return to the shops in a week, to find the same item has gone up by a significant amount of money.Botswana Energy Regulatory Authority (BERA) last week announced yet another fuel price increase, which follows yet another increase that came into effect on March 29. Hardly two months later on May 12 boom, BERA announced yet another increase, which came into effect at a...

Have a Story? Send Us a tip
arrow up