Mmegi Online :: Editorial
<-- END: MMEGI HEADER -->
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 24 March 2017, 15:24 pm.
Fri 24 Mar 2017, 11:29 am
Following a violent strike on February 9, 2017 the University of Botswana (UB) main campus closed until March 6. A lot has been written about this particular student stri...
Thu 23 Mar 2017, 16:39 pm
Almost every year around this time, consumers are bombarded with announcements for increases in tariffs mainly for water and electricity.
Wed 22 Mar 2017, 11:06 am
Environment, Natural Resources, Conservation and Tourism minister, Tshekedi Khama has been in the headlines lately for, among others, his fight for greater budgetary allo...
Tue 21 Mar 2017, 11:10 am
In response to a budget presentation by the Ministry of Employment, Labour Productivity and Skills Development, Members of Parliament expressed concern over the low pay a...
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 11:32 am
Since the ruling party has ‘murdered’ the All Party Conference, it is upon the civil society movement to regroup and form a strong voice that will protect the interests o...
Thu 16 Mar 2017, 11:24 am
The Government continues to splash funds into pet projects that if not planned for at all, are poorly laid out, let alone executed.
Wed 15 Mar 2017, 11:04 am
We learnt with shock the ‘brief’ detention and threat to kill three journalists from INK Centre for Investigative Journalism allegedly by security agents last Wednesday.
Tue 14 Mar 2017, 11:54 am
Last Friday, the National Assembly adopted a motion calling on the Government to establish a Selebi-Phikwe campus of the Botswana International University for Science and...
Fri 10 Mar 2017, 11:50 am
President Ian Khama enjoyed his 64th birthday a few weeks ago and will retire from the Presidency at 65 years, after serving two terms in office.
Thu 09 Mar 2017, 11:32 am
The local economy has traditionally been dwarfed by regional giant, South Africa, which has enjoyed greater industrialisation, deeper modernisation and by far the lion’s ...
Wed 08 Mar 2017, 11:54 am
Eight out of country’s nine dams are full, including “stubborn” Gaborone Dam, which after proudly resisting for months, suddenly filled up in the space of a few days last...
Tue 07 Mar 2017, 11:50 am
Legislators brought a ray of hope when they called on the government last week to relax immigration laws that make it impossible to attract Foreign Direct Investment.
Fri 03 Mar 2017, 11:21 am
Atleast 230 police officers have been fired from Botswana Police Service since 2012 due to ill discipline and other unwanted behaviour. The number is huge for the police ...
Thu 02 Mar 2017, 17:08 pm
The preliminary indicators as to the policy tone the new Bank of Botswana (BoB) governor, Moses Pelaelo will take in his term, are encouraging.
Wed 01 Mar 2017, 11:20 am
We said this last December and we will repeat it again; the Meteorological Services Department is doing a wonderful job of always updating the nation about the weather co...
Fri 24 Feb 2017, 12:32 pm
It is common cause that Dikgang Publishing Company (DPC) is the publisher of Mmegi and The Monitor newspapers. It is our vision at DPC to be the leader in breaking news a...
Thu 23 Feb 2017, 15:46 pm
This year’s rainy season will be remembered for many years to come, not because of its association with a certain Dineo, but for the fact that Gaborone Dam may reach its ...
Wed 22 Feb 2017, 17:06 pm
The Botswana Unified Revenue Services (BURS) seems to be in the forefront of innovation and keeping pace with new ideas and technological advances.
Tue 21 Feb 2017, 11:43 am
During his address at the opening of the Legal Year, Chief Justice Maruping Dibotelo revealed that the 2016 recorded the highest number of divorce cases at the High Court...
Fri 17 Feb 2017, 10:02 am
The Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development has revealed that there are over 900 vacancies in local authorities across the country. The highest number is in th...
Thu 16 Feb 2017, 11:07 am
Local police are clearly not leading from the front in terms of the behaviour change required to reduce fatalities and injuries on the country’s roads.
Wed 15 Feb 2017, 11:34 am
Early this month the leaders of opposition parties briefed the nation about the much awaited opposition unity talks.
Tue 14 Feb 2017, 11:03 am
Last Friday the nation was treated to shocking news of a Botswana Defence Force (BDF) aircraft that crashed shortly after take-off at the Thebephatshwa Airbase just outsi...
Fri 10 Feb 2017, 10:23 am
It is common cause that the University of Botswana (UB) main campus closed yesterday until further notice. The UB management instructed the students to vacate the campus ...
Thu 09 Feb 2017, 12:05 pm
Villagers in the tourism heartland of Chobe are upset and understandably so. Once again, a decision that directly affects their livelihoods has been taken without their i...
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Monday, 27 Mar 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.0908
1 GBP = Pula   12.6582
1 EUR = Pula   10.9649
1 YEN = Pula   0.0917
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8163
1 Pula = USD   0.0991
1 Pula = GBP   0.079
1 Pula = EUR   0.0912
1 Pula = YEN   10.91
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2251
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Power Rangers
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 24 Mar - Thursday 30 Mar :::
    Power Rangers
    CHIPS
    John Wick: Chapter 2
    Kong: Skull Island
    Rock Dog
  • Previous
    Power Rangers
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 24 Mar - Thursday 30 Mar :::
    Power Rangers
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 28 Mar - Tuesday 28 Mar :::
Selefu
Sisi Boy Express Delivery
Banners
Banners