Mmegi Online :: Cuff your dogs and snakes
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 19 September 2017, 16:12 pm.
Banners
Cuff your dogs and snakes

The Botswana Movement for Democracy (BMD) members are expected to throng Bobirwa capital Bobonong for their elective congress.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 14 Jul 2017, 11:06 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Cuff your dogs and snakes








The party goes into the congress divided and with angry members on the opposing sides. It is also known that the party president Ndaba Gaolathe and his deputy Wynter Mmolotsi were suspended together with other party members. The expelled members has publicly pleaded ignorance to the expulsion and has been busy preparing for the congress and called at least two press conferences.

The chairperson Nehemiah Modubule led faction, which effected the suspensions, and expulsions on the other hand continued to treat the others as expelled claiming that they failed to follow the BMD constitution after endorsing the Youth League congress in Ramotswa.

It is already clear that peace is unlikey to reign at the congress. With that having been said, we would like to urge the two factions to exercise restraint and practice ntwakgolo ke ya molomo.

The two factions leaders should be encouraging their members to be calm and solve their differences on the table. With the National Executive Committee (NEC) divided, there is no way things can run smoothly.

Earlier this year before the suspension of Ndaba Gaolathe led faction, NEC members turned party offices into a war

Banners

zone when activists alleged to be bodyguards to the party president Gaolathe, reportedly pounced on and allegedly assaulted secretary general, Gilbert Mangole and Modubule.

That was not all, we heard of branch congresses turning into boxing matches, as each faction wanted to elect preferred delegates for the congress. Also there have been videos making rounds on social media of ordinary members fighting each other. These incidents do not reflect who we are as Batswana. We solve our issues calmly and we request that the BMD masses do exactly that.

We have seen fights within the Botswana National Front after Duma Boko assumed its presidency. Contrary to what is happening at the BMD, the BNF members who had disagreements approached the courts. After that some left, others made up and they are now enjoying peace and tranquility.

We would also like to call on the Botswana Police and other security organs to do all in their powers to protect lives, which will be clearly at risk, as members in the two warring factions continue to threaten each other with the use of violence.

Today’s thought

‘Ntwakgolo ke ya molomo’

 - Unknown

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 14 Jul 2017, 11:06 am
Thu 13 Jul 2017, 11:44 am
Wed 12 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 11 Jul 2017, 11:59 am
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 16:18 pm
Thu 06 Jul 2017, 13:50 pm
Wed 05 Jul 2017, 16:05 pm
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 17:46 pm
Thu 29 Jun 2017, 11:25 am
Wed 28 Jun 2017, 11:59 am
Tue 27 Jun 2017, 11:22 am
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 11:54 am
Thu 22 Jun 2017, 17:24 pm
Wed 21 Jun 2017, 11:37 am
Tue 20 Jun 2017, 11:40 am
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 17:08 pm
Thu 15 Jun 2017, 11:53 am
Wed 14 Jun 2017, 11:04 am
Tue 13 Jun 2017, 16:30 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 11:06 am
Thu 08 Jun 2017, 11:56 am
Wed 07 Jun 2017, 11:55 am
Tue 06 Jun 2017, 16:55 pm
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 11:02 am
Thu 01 Jun 2017, 11:38 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Tuesday, 19 Sep 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.1729
1 GBP = Pula   13.7741
1 EUR = Pula   12.2100
1 YEN = Pula   0.0912
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7668
1 Pula = USD   0.0983
1 Pula = GBP   0.0726
1 Pula = EUR   0.0819
1 Pula = YEN   10.97
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3042
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    American Assassin
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    American Assassin
    It
    The Dark Tower
    Logan Lucky
  • Previous
    American Assassin
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    American Assassin
    Home Again
    Logan Lucky
    The Dark Tower
  • Previous
    Home Again
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    Home Again
    American Assassin
    The Dark Tower
    Logan Lucky
    The Son of Bigfoot
    Girls Trip
Selefu
Boko
Banners
Banners