Pharaohs, Warriors get AFCON ball rolling

Koulibaly of Senegal
Koulibaly of Senegal

The biggest Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournament kicks-off tonight with Zimbabwe’s Warriors facing the wrath of Mohammed Salah’s Pharaohs of Egypt.

Kick-off is 8pm. The number of participating countries has been increased from 16 to 24 for the first time in the tournament’s history.

Unfortunately, the Zebras of Botswana will watch the action from the couch, but the Botswana Premier League (BPL) has a former representative, as Tanzania’s Rashid Mandawa was a BDF XI player until his recent release.

Editor's Comment
Botswana deserves ideal political leaders

This remains to be seen, particularly as opposite unity has been seeing its ups and downs. In 2012, three opposition parties namely the Botswana National Front (BNF), the Botswana Movement for Democracy (BMD), and the Botswana National Front (BNF) formed a political alliance under the Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC). The Botswana Congress Party (BCP) would, after rebuffs, join the coalition in 2017.The promise made by the coalition to its...

Have a Story? Send Us a tip
arrow up