Latest News

A Directorate of Intelligence and Security (DIS) agent, Derick Masukul...
FRANCISTOWN: Police in Francistown believe that a suspect in a case in...
Teachers trade union Bosetu is pointing fingers at basic education min...
FRANCISTOWN: Francistown Police have launched a manhunt for three men ...

NAA nominees unveiled

Thapelo ''MC Maswe'' Maleka.PIC: KEOAGILE BONANG
FRANCISTOWN: The second annual Northern Arts Awards (NAA) are upon us and the nominees were announced recently at the Francistown Civic Centre.

Renowned mbanqanga singer MC Maswe whose real name is Thapelo Maleka is leading the nominees with four selections.

According to the NAA organisers the nominees were chosen by a panel of judges led by Taolo Moshaga who analysed the artists’ overall performance and their contribution towards the growth of the art industry in the northern part of Botswana.

The award ceremony will be held on December 10 at Cresta Thapama Hotel.

NAA will be sponsored by Duma fm, VIB Mobile, Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development, Francistown City Council, Kwambala Foundation, Kgalajwe Foundation, and Garero Multimedia among others.

This year’s awards are expected to be bigger and better with more than 30 categories registered for the awards as compared to last year’s 12 categories that were identified.

The new categories include best Annual Festival, Media House, Employer, Award of Honour, Dance Hall, Fashion Designers to name a few.


Best Music Video

Baiseraele, Bana Bana Bantogwa, Edward Prince and Lesh da lotto boy

Best Theatre Group

Ghetto Artist, Shadows

Best Visual Arts

Tiro Mathambo, Tshireletso Lechaena and Nelson Mbangwa

Best Jazz

Ndingo Johwa and Mswallow

Best Music Producer

Deril, M Joe-Records and Bon-Fella Records

Best Dikhwaere

Kutlwano Morena and Tselatshweu

Best Promoter


Poster, Pablo Tshambani, Ikaneng Ikaneng and Crystal Investments

Best Arts Reporter

Lesedi Mkhutshwa, Kabelo Dipholo and Peter Madiya

Best Mbaqanga/Mosakaso, MC Maswe and Rra Dicheleketo

Best Overall Artist, Brighton.M, Kamvuthu and Rudy Ride

Best Disc Jockey (DJ)

DJ Hot, DJ Colastraw and DJ Bunz

Best Comedian

Kabo Keitheng, Mosimanegape Rasegojwa and Augustus Phillimon.

Award of Honour

Ndingo Johwa, Mc Maswe, Naptunes Band and Jeff Matheatau

Best Traditional

Bana Bana Bantogwa, Makoriba, Ramozara and Tjilenje Tje Ngwao

Best Fashion Designer

Kenville Clothing, Katteb Fashion Design, Mis.T Design and Power Fashions

Best Annual Festival

Toropo Yamuka Festival and Domboshaba Cultural Festival

Best Digital Photography

Salvador & Multimedia Works and Tsikiofi photograph

Best Master of Ceremony

MC Poster, MC Maswe and Frank T Nfila

Best Rhumba

Gift and, Sallyvich, Wendy & The Valentine Stars and Jeff Matheatau

Best Poet

Koketso Marumo, Poetic Sensei and Ngwao Putswa

Best House Kwasa

Madala vs Kelly Jess and M.jein

Best Hip-Hop/Motswako

Clint, Mongaa a.k.a King Ping and B-Blok

Best Gospel Group/Artist

Botsogo Gospel Singers, Baiseraela, Edward Prince and Ma Hazell

Best Upcoming

UCM Acapella, Motlalepula, Rude Ride and Kanvuthu.

Best Kwaito

Chase and Two Boys

Best Media House

The Voice, Midweek Sun and Mmegi

Best Host of the Year

Club Lagos, Lizard Entertainment, Trekers Maun

Best Employer

Mc Maswe and Ndingo Johwa

Best Dancehall

Robby G, King Calipso and Ben-ten




I am back!

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper