The Monitor :: Tanzanian MP 'sentenced for defaming Magufuli'
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 15 August 2018, 15:48 pm.
Banners
Tanzanian MP 'sentenced for defaming Magufuli'

A Tanzanian opposition MP has been handed a five-month prison sentence after being found guilty of defaming President John Magufuli, The Citizen news site reports.
By BBC.COM Mon 26 Feb 2018, 15:02 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Tanzanian MP 'sentenced for defaming Magufuli'








Joseph Mbilinyi - popularly known as Sugu - from the opposition Chadema party, was convicted by a magistrate's court in the southwestern town of Mbeya.

His co-accused, Emmanuel Masonga, was handed a similar prison sentence.

The two were accused of committing "hate speech" against President Magufuli

Banners

at Mwenge Primary School in Mbeya on 30 December last year.

Mbilinyi earlier urged his supporters to remain calm and accept any form of court judgment.

Observers say the ruling will deepen concerns that Mr Magufuli's intolerance of dissent is eroding Tanzanian democracy.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 15:02 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 11:48 am
Tue 13 Feb 2018, 09:28 am
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 17:38 pm
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 20:00 pm
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 17:03 pm
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 13:20 pm
Tue 31 Oct 2017, 10:34 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 17:13 pm
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 13:15 pm
Tue 30 May 2017, 14:59 pm
Tue 09 May 2017, 09:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 15:57 pm
Tue 07 Feb 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 16:49 pm
Tue 17 Jan 2017, 07:26 am
Tue 20 Dec 2016, 14:04 pm
Tue 22 Nov 2016, 13:32 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 16:28 pm
Tue 04 Oct 2016, 09:24 am
Tue 13 Sep 2016, 17:04 pm
Tue 06 Sep 2016, 19:24 pm
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 16:58 pm
Tue 16 Aug 2016, 09:57 am
Tue 09 Aug 2016, 12:37 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Thursday 16 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Christopher Robin
    The Darkest Minds
    Hotel Artemis
    Mission: Impossible - Fallout
  • Previous
    Charming
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Thursday 16 Aug :::
    Charming
    The Meg
    The Darkest Minds
    Mission: Impossible - Fallout
  • Previous
    Christopher Robin
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Thursday 16 Aug :::
    Christopher Robin
    Skyscraper
    The Meg
    Charming
    The Darkest Minds
Selefu
Scuttling the BDP boat
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort