Mmegi Blogs :: Back 4D Future
Last Updated
Monday 19 March 2018, 13:44 pm.
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 13:44 pm
Few would consider it reasonable to discuss the roots of racism in the Americas without referring to the legacy of slavery. Likewise, it would be absurd to ignore Aparthe...
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 18:07 pm
We left off in 1872, with Kgosi Sechele having summoned a Letsholo (armed meeting), which was attended by many Bangwato as well as Bakwena.
Tue 06 Mar 2018, 14:59 pm
We left off in 1867 at the Shoshong with Matsheng once more on the Bangwato throne. Having outmanoeuvred Sekgoma with Khama’s help, his second reign was initially charact...
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 16:46 pm
We left off at the Shoshong Kgotla in early June of 1866 with Matsheng once more accepted as the Bangwato Kgosi. Khama was reportedly the only one to openly speak against...
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 17:08 pm
We left off in the plains north of Shoshong in 1863, with the Bangwato defeat of the last Amandebele army to invade their territory.
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 13:12 pm
We left off in 1859 with Kgosi Sekgoma having been restored to the Bangwato throne, following the forcible ouster of Matsheng by Bangwato with armed Bakwena assistance.
Tue 30 Jan 2018, 09:30 am
We left off at GuBulawayo in December 1857 with Nkosi Mzilakazi finally accepting Kgosi Sechele’s request that he free Matsheng (Macheng) aKgama II, who had been held in ...
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:56 pm
During the decade and a half that followed his 1857 detente with Marthinus Pretorius’ South African Republic, i.e. Transvaal Boers, Kgosi Sechele struggled to maintain hi...
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:37 pm
As we approach the Christmas one may ponder the challenge of living by Jesus’s example. Of course the Bible is full of passages about our sinful nature, e.g. (Romans 3:23...
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 21:38 pm
“I found amongst the more intelligent men as unexpected interest in the course of English political history, in the passage of power from crown to aristocracy, from arist...
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 17:23 pm
“One day, the whole of Africa will surely be free and united and when the final tale is told, the significance of George Padmore’s work will be revealed.”- Kwame Nkrumah
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 13:07 pm
Previously, it was noted that the Batawana led by Kgosi Moremi II had ample warning of the coming of the 1884 Amandebele pillaging expedition. Moremi was thus able to saf...
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 15:50 pm
Previously we had noted,, having been emboldened by a successful 1882 raid, in 1884 Lobengula decided to dispatch a force of not less than 2,500 of his best warriors, und...
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:18 pm
“Major Edwards and his party were in Matebele country and saw the remnants of the army returning. He says although Lobengula tried hard to hide it, it was easy to see tha...
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:38 pm
We had previously observed that modern conical bullets, along with percussion caps and improved rifles came to Botswana as then cutting edge technology in the 1840s with ...
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 16:54 pm
“The foundation of all states, new as well as old or composite, are good laws and good arms.” – Niccolo Machiavelli (1513) As was reflected in the Batswana-Boer War of 18...
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 16:43 pm
Today marks the 125th anniversary of the death of the Bakwena Kgosi Sechele I, whose passing coincided with the birth of a great grandson: Kelebantshe-a-Kealeboga, the fu...
Mon 18 Sep 2017, 16:25 pm
This week we finally conclude our coverage of the Batswana-Boer was of 1852-53 with some additional details of the peace process that ended the post-armistice cold war.
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 16:54 pm
Over the past few months we have been indulging in an extended examination of the seminal event in Botswana’s ultimate emergence as a nation state, the Batswana-Boer War ...
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 16:52 pm
Our last instalment ended with Marthinus Wessel Pretorius having emerged as the new supreme Commandant-General of the Transvaal Boers following the July 23, 1853 death of...
Mon 21 Aug 2017, 16:31 pm
We concluded our last instalment with the British Governor at Cape Town, General Sir George Cathcart having been instructed by his superior in London “to abstain from any...
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 16:07 pm
“They said they had no time to speak now: if you are afraid to fight give up all your guns, all your oxen, all your sheep, all your goats and all your children and also y...
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 16:56 pm
In our extended account of the 1852-53 Batswana-Boer War, we last left off at Motito on the 19th of December 1852, where Kgosi Sechele encountered Dr. David Livingstone, ...
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
  • Previous
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 20 Mar - Tuesday 20 Mar :::
  • Previous
    ::: Tuesday 20 Mar - Tuesday 20 Mar :::
  • Previous
    ::: Tuesday 20 Mar - Tuesday 20 Mar :::
Current Leadership
istanbul escort