Latest News

The beauty industry has grown in leaps and bounds in the country, slo...
On Wednesday, registered voters will head to the polls to hire who the...
Mi Casa frontman and SA’s much-loved vocalist and foodie J&rsquo...
There is a point in your training as an actor where you realise that y...


The Botswana Nurses Union (BONU) has taken a resolution to join the Botswana Federation of Public Parastatal and Private Sector Unions (BOFEPUSU).

The Union made the decision at its annual general congress that was held recently in Palapye. 

The retained BONU president, Obonolo Rahube said the issue of affiliating with BOFEPUSU was once discussed by members last year and deferred to the 2019 annual general congress.

“We will be writing to BOFEPUSU this week about the matter.  The members believe that the voice of our union could carry more weight or be heard if unions work together,” Rahube said.

“The resolution could not be adopted last year because the congress had to discuss it first. Members also agreed that they should keep their subscription fee which is P50 as it is.” 

BOFEPUSU secretary general, Tobokani Rari said it was a welcome move by BONU to consider affiliating with them.

“This shows that BONU has confidence in us as BOFEPUSU because they had a choice to affiliate with another federation, which is the Botswana Federation of Trade Unions (BFTU),” Rari said.

“Every federation wants to grow in terms of numbers. It was BFTU and we, who made a presentation at the congress in Palapye over the weekend. We were emphasising the need for unions to join federations in order to speak in one voice,” he added.

Rari said some of the problems that nurses

face need a strong voice as a federation than as a union. Only six positions at BONU were unopposed while the other seven were contested for.


The president’s position had;

Unangoni Modo with 72 votes, winner Obonolo Rahube with 133 votes,

Peter Baleseng with 119 votes and

Lentlametse Matshonyane with 61 votes contesting.

Vice president –professional affairs had

Kabelo Dikinya with 115 votes and winner Vusa Phena with 276 votes contesting.

The secretary general’s position had Yonnie Otukile with 95 votes, Aldrine Madigele with 34 votes, and winner Lebogang Phillip with votes 262 contesting.

Secretary of international affairs position had Atang Thake with 195 votes and winner Pinkie Mapinda-Joseph with 196 votes contesting.

For the role of the secretary of international organising, Lesego Segotso with 157 votes lost to Karabo Koogotsitse who won with 232 votes while two were spoilt. 

Secretary of arts and culture is Kenneth Mmereki with 205 votes, who won against Killer Ntosa with just three votes, Ngoni Mathumo’s 18, Tebogo Moseja’s       77, Tsaone Mainole’s 26, Vincent Selotlego’s 59 and two having been spoilt.

Unopposed positions included treasurer general Kebame Phitlho, publicity secretary Aobakwe Lesolame, vice president labour and bargaining Mosimanegape Nsagwa, deputy secretary general labour Kenneth Matlakele, national organising secretary Kago Mosea and secretary for gender Snox Sentlhaga.




Incase of a Hung Parliament

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper