The Monitor :: MDC in bid to raise $129,000 after court defeat
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 19 November 2018, 13:52 pm.
Banners
MDC in bid to raise $129,000 after court defeat

Zimbabwe's opposition MDC Alliance is trying to raise $129,000 (£100,000) to pay legal fees after the country's highest court dismissed its application to annul President Emmerson Mnangagwa's victory in heavily disputed elections in July.
By BBC.COM Tue 28 Aug 2018, 12:49 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: MDC in bid to raise $129,000 after court defeat








The Constitutional Court's ruling was "against overwhelming public opinion", and "worse still, it carried a punitive condition requiring [MDC Alliance candidate] Nelson Chamisa to foot the legal costs of everyone involved", its fund-raising page says. 

More than £9,000 had been raised in the first day.

Mr Chamisa boycotted Mr Mnangagwa's inauguration in the capital, Harare, on Sunday.

He maintains that the result was rigged to give Mr Mnangagwa outright victory.

Ousted President Robert Mugabe and his wife Grace were also absent from the inauguration. However, their daughter, Bona, and her husband, Simba Chikore, were present. 

Mr Mugabe had backed Mr Chamisa in the election, despite the fact

Banners

that he once saw him as an "enemy" and a "puppet" of the West. 

In his inauguration speech, Mr Mnangagwa read out a letter from Mr Mugabe amid cheers from the crowd, the state-linked Herald newspaper reported.

“Your Excellency, thank you for your invitation to me and my wife to attend the inauguration ceremony. My wife is not well in Singapore and also I am not well. So I am sending my daughter and her husband to represent us. Hearty Congratulations,” the letter said.

The military forced Mr Mugabe, 94, to resign in November, opening the way for Mr Mnangagwa to take power.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 28 Aug 2018, 12:49 pm
Tue 31 Jul 2018, 14:10 pm
Tue 26 Jun 2018, 10:00 am
Tue 12 Jun 2018, 09:14 am
Tue 29 May 2018, 08:56 am
Tue 17 Apr 2018, 06:00 am
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 15:02 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 11:48 am
Tue 13 Feb 2018, 09:28 am
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 17:38 pm
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 20:00 pm
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 17:03 pm
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 13:20 pm
Tue 31 Oct 2017, 10:34 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 17:13 pm
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 13:15 pm
Tue 30 May 2017, 14:59 pm
Tue 09 May 2017, 09:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 15:57 pm
Tue 07 Feb 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 16:49 pm
Tue 17 Jan 2017, 07:26 am
Tue 20 Dec 2016, 14:04 pm
Tue 22 Nov 2016, 13:32 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 16:28 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 20 Nov - Tuesday 20 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Tuesday 20 Nov - Tuesday 20 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 20 Nov - Tuesday 20 Nov :::
Selefu
Judges
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort