Mmegi Online :: Laos: Hundreds missing after dam collapse
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 15 October 2018, 15:57 pm.
Banners
Laos: Hundreds missing after dam collapse

Hundreds of people are missing and an unknown number dead after a dam under construction collapsed in south-east Laos, state media reported.
By BBC.COM Tue 24 Jul 2018, 16:46 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Laos: Hundreds missing after dam collapse








The collapse at the hydroelectric dam in Attapeu province late on Monday sent flash floods through six villages, Lao News Agency said. 

More than 6,600 people have been made homeless, it added.

Pictures showed villagers stranded on the roofs of submerged house and boats carrying people to safety.

"The disaster has claimed several human lives [and] left hundreds of people missing," the agency reported.

Construction of the Xe-Pian Xe-Namnoy dam began in 2013 and it was due to begin commercial operations next year.

The main Thai stakeholder in the project, Ratchaburi Electricity Generating Holding, said it had received a report from the dam's operator that a "saddle dam", measuring 770m long and 16m high, had collapsed.

It said continuous rainstorms had led "a high volume of water" to flow into the reservoir. 

"Currently, Xe-Pian Xe-Namnoy Power Company Limited and related agencies have evacuated the people who reside around the area,"

Banners

the statement added.

A spokesman for SK Engineering & Construction, a South Korean company with a stake in the project, told the BBC a small supply dam - not the main dam - had been partly lost due to "unexpected heavy rainfall". 

"We still don't know the exact cause, but we believe parts of the upper part of the dam were lost... and water overflowed from the supply dam," he said.

Environmental groups have previously expressed fears over Laos's hydroelectric programme and its potential impact on communities and ecosystems downstream of dams.

Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith has postponed government meetings and gone to the affected area in Sanamxay district with senior officials to monitor relief efforts, state media said.

Local authorities have appealed to government bodies and other communities to help provide emergency aid for the victims such as clothing, food, drinking water and medicine.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 24 Jul 2018, 16:46 pm
Thu 05 Jul 2018, 17:35 pm
Wed 27 Jun 2018, 10:00 am
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 15:35 pm
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 11:19 am
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 10:57 am
Tue 12 Jun 2018, 17:17 pm
Sun 10 Jun 2018, 17:07 pm
Tue 05 Jun 2018, 15:42 pm
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 13:00 pm
Tue 29 May 2018, 16:45 pm
Thu 19 Apr 2018, 05:25 am
Wed 11 Apr 2018, 18:03 pm
Tue 10 Apr 2018, 16:26 pm
Thu 05 Apr 2018, 15:30 pm
Mon 02 Apr 2018, 16:27 pm
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 14:07 pm
Thu 22 Mar 2018, 12:59 pm
Thu 15 Mar 2018, 16:18 pm
Tue 13 Mar 2018, 18:49 pm
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 09:00 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 13:50 pm
Thu 01 Mar 2018, 07:00 am
Wed 28 Feb 2018, 13:00 pm
Wed 21 Feb 2018, 17:14 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Baby Mamas
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 10 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Baby Mamas
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    Night School
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    Venom
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Venom
    Baby Mamas
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
  • Previous
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    The Nun
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    Johnny English Strikes Again
Selefu
Stay Calm!
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort