Mmegi Online :: Libya: At least 27 dead in twin Benghazi car bombs
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Sunday 18 February 2018, 21:00 pm.
Banners
Libya: At least 27 dead in twin Benghazi car bombs

At least 27 people have been killed in two car bombs near a mosque in the Libyan city of Benghazi.
By BBC.COM Wed 24 Jan 2018, 16:30 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Libya: At least 27 dead in twin Benghazi car bombs








Varying reports say 20 to 30 more were wounded by the blasts, which took place within minutes of each other.

The first vehicle blew up in front of a mosque in the central al-Sleimani neighbourhood, as worshippers were leaving the building after evening prayers.

A second car exploded soon afterwards on the other side of the street. 

Both military personnel and civilians are among the victims. The number of fatalities may rise, a spokeswoman for the local al-Jala hospital told AFP news agency.

It is not yet clear who was behind the bloodshed. The BBC's North Africa Correspondent Rana Jawad says many

Banners

bombings of this kind go unclaimed in Libya.

Libya has descended into turmoil since the 2011 overthrow of its then-leader Muammar Gaddafi. Two rival parliaments and many powerful militia groups have battled for dominance, and the disruption has allowed the Islamic State group to gain a foothold in the country.

The city of Benghazi has seen conflict between Islamist militias and the self-styled Libyan National Army, headed by military strongman Khalifa Haftar.

Haftar announced the "total liberation" of the city in July 2017, after three years of fighting with jihadists there.

Nonetheless, clashes and violence have continued to plague Benghazi.

Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Wed 24 Jan 2018, 16:30 pm
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 18:30 pm
Fri 19 Jan 2018, 13:00 pm
Wed 17 Jan 2018, 23:00 pm
Tue 16 Jan 2018, 12:59 pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 10:00 am
Thu 11 Jan 2018, 15:42 pm
Wed 10 Jan 2018, 16:22 pm
Tue 09 Jan 2018, 15:46 pm
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:35 pm
Thu 07 Dec 2017, 15:14 pm
Tue 05 Dec 2017, 20:53 pm
Sun 03 Dec 2017, 13:00 pm
Fri 01 Dec 2017, 17:06 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 09:58 am
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:43 pm
Thu 23 Nov 2017, 09:05 am
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 23:45 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 18:06 pm
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 17:02 pm
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:57 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:43 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:05 pm
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 06:38 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:03 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Monday, 19 Feb 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.4787
1 GBP = Pula   13.2979
1 EUR = Pula   11.7647
1 YEN = Pula   0.0890
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8130
1 Pula = USD   0.1055
1 Pula = GBP   0.0752
1 Pula = EUR   0.085
1 Pula = YEN   11.24
1 Pula = ZAR   1.23
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 19 Feb - Monday 19 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 19 Feb - Monday 19 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 19 Feb - Monday 19 Feb :::
Selefu
Hey! That
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort