Mmegi Online :: Tanzania President John Magufuli sacks officials after TV scolding
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 25 May 2018, 14:11 pm.
Banners
Tanzania President John Magufuli sacks officials after TV scolding

Tanzanian President John Magufuli has sacked two public officials after scolding one of them on live TV.
By BBC.COM Tue 07 Nov 2017, 17:02 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Tanzania President John Magufuli sacks officials after TV scolding








He had asked the two municipal directors what their budget was for road construction in their districts.

Neither could recall on the spot, and a few hours later both officials were sacked. No reason was given.

President Magufuli's critics say he is becoming increasingly authoritarian. But many have praised the president for his no-nonsense style.

His nickname is "the Bulldozer".

The president was attending a ceremony in the northern town of Bukoba when the incident happened on Monday.

A 30-second clip of the exchange - all in Swahili - shows him asking Mwantum Kitwana Dau to state how much money had been set aside for a road fund.

When she couldn't remember,

Banners

the president scolded her. According to one account, Ms Dau said that she oversees many departments and could not immediately recall the exact budget allocated for road projects.

Mr Magufuli replied: "You can't talk to me like that."

The president is known to make spot visits at government offices and berating officials who he believes are not doing their work.

When he came to office two years ago, he promised to stamp out corruption.

In April Mr Magufuli sacked around 10,000 civil servants for having fake education certificates. And since he has been in power Tanzania has removed thousands of so-called ghost workers from its public sector payroll.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 17:02 pm
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:57 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:43 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:05 pm
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 06:38 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:03 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 12:09 pm
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 13:18 pm
Wed 26 Jul 2017, 09:44 am
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 20:00 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 10:44 am
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:17 am
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 11:41 am
Thu 18 May 2017, 09:44 am
Wed 10 May 2017, 09:19 am
Tue 09 May 2017, 10:09 am
Wed 26 Apr 2017, 14:59 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 13:19 pm
Wed 19 Apr 2017, 17:30 pm
Tue 04 Apr 2017, 16:37 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 11:11 am
Thu 30 Mar 2017, 10:05 am
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:10 pm
Thu 16 Mar 2017, 15:01 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Life of the Party
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Deadpool 2
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Deadpool 2
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Life of the Party
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Life of the Party
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
Selefu
BDP Chairman
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort