Mmegi Online :: Last-minute court bid to block Kenya presidential election
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 14 December 2018, 17:40 pm.
Banners
Last-minute court bid to block Kenya presidential election

Kenya's Supreme Court is to hold a last-minute hearing to decide whether the re-run of the presidential election can go ahead.
By BBC.COM Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:57 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Last-minute court bid to block Kenya presidential election








The court will hear an urgent petition by human rights activists arguing Kenya is not ready for the vote.

The election is due to take place on Thursday.

The Supreme Court in September took the unprecedented decision to annul the presidential election and demand a re-run.

Chief Justice David Maraga said the 8 August election had not been "conducted in accordance with the constitution" and declared it "invalid, null and void".

This was the first time in Africa that an opposition court challenge against a presidential election had succeeded.

However, the main opposition candidate Raila Odinga is boycotting the vote.

He told the BBC's Newsday programme on Tuesday that it was a "sham" election "which will not represent the will of the people".

Mr Odinga says nothing has changed since the original poll and has called for "massive" demonstrations on

Banners

election day.

On Monday, 20 Western diplomats said "growing insecurity", including inflammatory rhetoric and attacks on the election commission, made it more difficult to hold a legitimate poll.

Last week a senior official at the electoral commission fled to the US, telling the BBC she had received death threats.

Amid the growing tension, the bodyguard of Kenya's deputy chief justice was shot and wounded on Tuesday, police say.

They said the motive was not clear.

The Supreme Court has agreed to hear the last-minute petition, which questions whether the electoral commission and its chairman will be able to conduct a free and fair election on Thursday.

It is asking for an entirely new election which could extend the process by months.

President Uhuru Kenyatta, who is seeking a second term, has said the ballot must go ahead.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:57 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:43 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:05 pm
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 06:38 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:03 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 12:09 pm
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 13:18 pm
Wed 26 Jul 2017, 09:44 am
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 20:00 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 10:44 am
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:17 am
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 11:41 am
Thu 18 May 2017, 09:44 am
Wed 10 May 2017, 09:19 am
Tue 09 May 2017, 10:09 am
Wed 26 Apr 2017, 14:59 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 13:19 pm
Wed 19 Apr 2017, 17:30 pm
Tue 04 Apr 2017, 16:37 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 11:11 am
Thu 30 Mar 2017, 10:05 am
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:10 pm
Thu 16 Mar 2017, 15:01 pm
Wed 15 Mar 2017, 14:52 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 17 Dec - Monday 17 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Dec - Monday 17 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 17 Dec - Monday 17 Dec :::
Selefu
The NPF kinpins
Banners
Banners
resim yükle