Mmegi Online :: Acid Rain in Sandton, Johannesburg
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 23 October 2018, 15:21 pm.
Banners
Acid Rain in Sandton, Johannesburg

On 28 September 2016, I was staying at my daughter’s house in East road, Sandton, Johannesburg, South Africa. Our driver came around 7am in the morning, and I was getting ready to drop our grandsons at Crawford School.
By Correspondent Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:14 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Acid Rain in Sandton, Johannesburg








That time, we saw that our car was fully covered with white and black innumerable spots. My long experience in environmental research revealed to me that this is something interesting related to air pollution, and I photographed the whole horizontal area of the car body. Those 3 photographs are enclosed here.

This was cold and calm morning, almost no wind, relative humidity about 85% and sky was partially cloud-covered. What are these spots? To understand this event, we know that South Africa is producing large percentage of power by thermal power plants. The coal used in such plants has sulphur content about 1.0 to 1.5 percent. These plants are spewing thousands of

Banners

tons of sulphur dioxide in the environment.

The sulphur dioxide, if temperature is low and relative humidity is high, turns into sulphuric acid which reacts with elements like magnesium, calcium etc, present in the form of airborne particles, to form sulphate compound. In the same way,the nitrogen oxides resulting  from vehicular emission form nitric acid which produces nitrates.

These airborne particulates normally are called aerosols. If the environmental conditions are conducive, these particles become heavy and starts undergo gravity -settling on the ground or any material surface and leave white and black spots. These acidic spots corrodes any metallic and nonmetallic surfaces.

Professor T. S. Verma

Department of Physics, University of Botswana

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Opinion & Analysis
Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:20 pm
Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:14 pm
Thu 10 Aug 2017, 16:29 pm
Wed 09 Aug 2017, 16:56 pm
Fri 04 Aug 2017, 13:43 pm
Fri 04 Aug 2017, 13:43 pm
Fri 28 Jul 2017, 15:18 pm
Fri 28 Jul 2017, 15:17 pm
Wed 26 Jul 2017, 12:15 pm
Wed 26 Jul 2017, 12:14 pm
Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:21 pm
Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:17 pm
Fri 14 Jul 2017, 16:10 pm
Wed 12 Jul 2017, 16:17 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 17:16 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 16:11 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 15:36 pm
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 17:36 pm
Thu 29 Jun 2017, 16:17 pm
Thu 29 Jun 2017, 16:11 pm
Wed 28 Jun 2017, 16:58 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 14:53 pm
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 17:51 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 16:01 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 16:00 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 23 Oct - Thursday 01 Nov :::
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    The Hate U Give
    A Star Is Born
    Venom
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    The Hate U Give
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Tuesday 23 Oct - Thursday 01 Nov :::
    The Hate U Give
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    A Star Is Born
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 23 Oct - Thursday 01 Nov :::
    A Star Is Born
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    The Hate U Give
    Venom
    Night School
    Smallfoot
Selefu
Camp Dubai
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort