The Monitor :: Stiffer Penalties For Rapists
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 15 November 2018, 09:19 am.
Banners
Stiffer Penalties For Rapists

Activists and organisations have been at the forefront of sensitising communities around the world on issues of Gender Based Violence (GBV). GBV affects the girl child/women more than it affects the boy child/men.
By Monitor Editor Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Stiffer Penalties For Rapists








Of course it cannot be ignored that the boy child and men do experience it, although statistics show that women and the girl-children are the ones who bear the brunt the most. Gender Links has perhaps been the most active campaigner to end GBV alongside other non-governmental organisations.

It is heart-breaking that with so many campaigns against GBV, there are still men out there who still defile young girls and rape women. Cases of defilement and rape seem to be on the rise in the country.

Shockingly, some of those who do these dastardly acts are community leaders who are expected to lead by example. How do we expect the society to change and start treating women and the girl-child with respect when some of our leaders are dyed-in-the wool perpetrators of these ugly acts?

To make matters worse, some of these bullies find a way of escaping prosecution, which obviously is quite sickening.

The Monitor came across some information that a young girl was raped by her stepfather on Friday. This is someone she trusted and looked up to

Banners

her as a father figure.

Unfortunately, there are still shallow-minded people in our society who still argue that sometimes women bring rape upon themselves, basing their arguments on the dress codes and other circumstances, which include accepting gifts from men. A woman’s dress code or decision to accept gifts from an individual of the opposite sex, does not in any way give anyone the right to sexually assault a woman or a young girl. We have heard stories of devils in sheepskins who entice little girls with sweets and other material things, all for their evil intentions of defiling them.

It’s time, for the community and other activists, to get together and lobby for stiffer penalties on rapists, and those who defile children. The minimum rape sentence of 10 years should be reviewed and raised significantly, which maybe will discourage these men from inflicting life long psychological damage on their victims.

Most rape victims carry the scars for the rest of their lives. So why should perpetrators of rape serve a slap -in-the-wrist sentence of 10 years?

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am
Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am
Mon 27 Mar 2017, 11:30 am
Mon 20 Mar 2017, 11:43 am
Mon 13 Mar 2017, 11:37 am
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 11:34 am
Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:10 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 11:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm
Mon 06 Feb 2017, 11:13 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 13:48 pm
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
  • Previous
    Peppermint
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Peppermint
    Halloween
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
Selefu
Tla gae! Ke sharpo.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort