Mmegi Online :: Jammeh declares State of Emergency, parliament extends his term
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 17 September 2019, 18:10 pm.
Banners
Jammeh declares State of Emergency, parliament extends his term

The Gambia's parliament has extended President Yahya Jammeh's term, which is due to end on Thursday following his defeat in elections, by 90 days.
By BBC.COM Wed 18 Jan 2017, 13:54 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Jammeh declares State of Emergency, parliament extends his term








It also approved his decision to declare a 90-day state of emergency in the tiny West African state.

Regional leaders have threatened to use military force to oust Mr Jammeh if he refuses to hand power to President-elect Adama Barrow on Thursday.

Thousands of UK and Dutch tourists are being evacuated from The Gambia.

The country is popular with European holidaymakers because of its beaches.

The Gambia was plunged into crisis after Mr Jammeh rejected Mr Barrow's shock victory in the 1 December election.

Regional leaders have been unsuccessfully trying to persuade him to step down.

Nigeria has deployed a warship to put further pressure on Mr Jammeh

Banners

to step down.

Regional bloc Ecowas, the Economic Community of West African States, has prepared a Senegal-led force but maintains that military intervention would be a last resort.

In his televised announcement on Tuesday, Mr Jammeh said "any acts of disobedience to the laws of The Gambia, incitement of violence and acts intended to disturb public order and peace" were banned under the state of emergency.

He said security forces were instructed to "maintain absolute peace, law and order".

The parliament passed a motion condemning what it called the "unlawful and malicious interference" of the African Union and neighbouring Senegal in The Gambia's affairs.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Wed 18 Jan 2017, 13:54 pm
Mon 09 Jan 2017, 10:41 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 11:10 am
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 10:25 am
Wed 07 Dec 2016, 16:58 pm
Sun 27 Nov 2016, 10:58 am
Wed 23 Nov 2016, 10:58 am
Tue 22 Nov 2016, 16:47 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 11:23 am
Tue 15 Nov 2016, 16:14 pm
Wed 09 Nov 2016, 11:00 am
Fri 04 Nov 2016, 09:25 am
Tue 01 Nov 2016, 17:21 pm
Wed 26 Oct 2016, 11:41 am
Wed 19 Oct 2016, 09:36 am
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 07:21 am
Wed 12 Oct 2016, 17:52 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 18:35 pm
Wed 21 Sep 2016, 16:15 pm
Wed 14 Sep 2016, 14:57 pm
Fri 26 Aug 2016, 15:44 pm
Fri 26 Aug 2016, 09:33 am
Mon 22 Aug 2016, 13:21 pm
Thu 11 Aug 2016, 18:50 pm
Thu 28 Jul 2016, 09:13 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 17 Sep - Tuesday 17 Sep :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 17 Sep - Tuesday 17 Sep :::
Selefu
Let Them Go!!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners