The Monitor :: Kenyan newborn baby named 'AirForceOne Barack Obama'
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 16 October 2018, 17:21 pm.
Banners
Kenyan newborn baby named 'AirForceOne Barack Obama'

A batch of Kenyan newborn babies have been named in honour of President Barack Obama’s visit to the country — with some mothers evidently hoping their offspring will be future high-flyers.
By Correspondent Mon 27 Jul 2015, 10:11 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Kenyan newborn baby named 'AirForceOne Barack Obama'








Already there are numerous young Barack Obamas living in Kogelo, the president’s ancestral village, but soon after Obama touched down on Friday night two mothers in the western city of Kisumu took the unusual decision to name their sons after the president’s jet, Air Force One.

“I have decided to call my baby AirForceOne Barack Obama so that we can all remember Obama’s visit to Kenya because it is a huge blessing,” said Lucy Akinyi Okoth, one of the mothers.

Another, Lucy Atieno, decided to simply call her boy AirForce One.

“I have been told that it is the best aeroplane because it carries a very powerful leader of America who is also a Kenyan,” she said.

The two Air Force Ones

Banners

were among eight children born on Friday night at Kisumu Jaramogi Oginga Odinga Referral Hospital and named after Obama, said nurse Dolphin Akinyi.

“Yesterday from 8.30 pm we had eight deliveries and all the babies are in a very stable condition,” she said.

Three girls also each got an Obama-related name. One was named Michelle after the first lady, another was called Malia, after the couple’s eldest daughter, while a third was named Malia Sasha after the two Obama girls.

“I could not call my daughter any other name,” said Wilkister Anyango, who took both Obama’s daughters’ names for her child.

So far there are no reports of children being named after Obama’s armored limousine, popularly known as “The Beast.”

AFP

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Mon 27 Jul 2015, 10:11 am
Tue 14 Jul 2015, 14:14 pm
Tue 07 Jul 2015, 09:47 am
Mon 29 Jun 2015, 17:24 pm
Tue 23 Jun 2015, 12:48 pm
Tue 16 Jun 2015, 13:02 pm
Mon 15 Jun 2015, 17:00 pm
Tue 09 Jun 2015, 06:00 am
Tue 02 Jun 2015, 06:00 am
Mon 25 May 2015, 16:49 pm
Tue 19 May 2015, 00:14 am
Tue 21 Apr 2015, 16:55 pm
Tue 24 Mar 2015, 14:17 pm
Mon 23 Mar 2015, 12:28 pm
Mon 16 Mar 2015, 14:39 pm
Tue 03 Mar 2015, 07:00 am
Fri 20 Feb 2015, 18:11 pm
Mon 16 Feb 2015, 17:00 pm
Mon 09 Feb 2015, 10:22 am
Mon 12 Jan 2015, 13:11 pm
Mon 20 Oct 2014, 22:52 pm
Tue 14 Oct 2014, 09:00 am
Mon 15 Sep 2014, 15:00 pm
Mon 11 Aug 2014, 07:00 am
Sat 21 Jun 2014, 17:33 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Baby Mamas
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 10 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Baby Mamas
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    Night School
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    Venom
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Venom
    Baby Mamas
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
  • Previous
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    The Nun
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    Johnny English Strikes Again
Selefu
BBC
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort