Second annual Yarona FM Awards


On December 12, Yarona FM will host its second annual music awards dubbed Yarona FM Awards (YAMAs) 2.0.

The awards were launched last year. The station’s spokesperson, Robin Chivazve said the final preparations for the annual event are already underway.

Chivazve told Showbiz that although the lineup for the performances have not been finalised, EPIC, Chrome, MMP Family and Gaone will be amongst the performers on the night.

“The voting lines have been closed, the independent firm is now busy at work auditing the results,” he said.

“The tickets are also out on sale, at P200 for gold circle and P750 for VIP tickets.  Last year the event was sold out and already the excitement around this year’s event is at an all time high.  It’s advisable that those who wish to attend the event buy the tickets whilst its still early,” Chivazve said.

The nominee selection was based on the artist’s performance on the station’s playlist and charts from June 2014 to June 2015.


Nominees include:

Best Single Male

Kast: Jealous, Epic: Respect Boi, Chrome: No Track ya Summer and ATI: Kachin.


Best Single Female

Sasa Klaas: Mmamongwato, Gaone: Kopisa, Amantle: Drop It Down Low and Licky ft Orakle: Free Love.


Best Newcomer

Chef Gustos, Gaone, Licky and Romeo Stunner.


Best Hip Hop DJ

Izzy, Root, Fauz and Macx


Best Hip Hop/Motswako

Epic: Respect Boi, Chrome: No Track Ya Summer, B Block/Touch: Top Shambole and Romeo Stunner: Milidzani.


Best Kwaito

Amanandos: Attention, MMP Family: Lebala Ka Nna, Eskimos ft Juju Boy: Cecelia and Franix: They Can Say.


Best House DJ

Ricky Lamar, T-Man, Chrispin the Drummer and Kuchi.


Best Dance

Gaone: Kopisa Chef Gustos ft Amantle: Come, DJ Anthem ft Dubblin: Keresiya as well as DJ Goveiya ft Dr Tawanda: Ambuye.


Social Media Award

Zeus, DJ Kuchi, DJ Izzy and Dramaboi.


Best Collabo

Lif’Aman ft SambaT, Kheza Mafokate: Thel’ubumnandi, DJ Izzy ft Zeus, Scar and STI: Nijel Amos, Epic ft Young Black and Chrome: Hee Wena and DJ Fiction and Ryan Blaze ft Ohmz tha Don: Kentucky.


Best Producer

Prez Beatz, Bangae, Chef Gustos and Lif’Aman.


Song Of The Year

Gaone: Kopisa, MMP Family: Lebala Ka Nna, Epic: Hee Wena and MMP Family: Mogolo Lapeng.


People’s Choice Award

MMP Family, Gaone, Eskimos, DJ Kuchi, ATI, Sasa Klaas, Dr Tawanda, La Timmy.

Editor's Comment
Escalating fuel prices cause panic

Nowadays it is not uncommon to purchase an item for a certain commodity and return to the shops in a week, to find the same item has gone up by a significant amount of money.Botswana Energy Regulatory Authority (BERA) last week announced yet another fuel price increase, which follows yet another increase that came into effect on March 29. Hardly two months later on May 12 boom, BERA announced yet another increase, which came into effect at a...

Have a Story? Send Us a tip
arrow up