Phiri Wins Morupule General Manager’s Cycling Challenge

Phiri receives his prize PIC: KOKETSO KGOBOGE
PALAPYE: Twenty-year old, Advocate Phiri of Team Cycling based in Gaborone was crowned the champion of the Under-23’s in the 110 km main race of the Morupule General Managers Cycling Challenge held here yesterday.

Over 150 participants took part in the cycling challenge that had a 30 km fun ride, 60 km Open that had four categories, the youth men and women, the seniors me and women.

Phiri was competing in the 110 km open race that had six categories that included the under-23 men and women, the masters, veteran’s, and the elite men and women categories.

Phiri walked away with P5,000, a Samsung S8 phone courtesy of Mascom Wireless and a P5,000 worth goodie pack from SESIRO. He said the route was challenging and competition was rife. He acknowledged the organisers of the event pointing out that such competitions add to his development in the sport.

“I want to wake up one day a professional in cycling. I want this sport to pay me and I am working hard to realise that dream. I want to take part in the world’s best cycling challenges and I thank all the organisers that keep bringing such

competitions for us. I promise to pay them back one way or the other someday,” he said.

Morupule general manager David Kgoboko recognised all the cyclists that took part in the charity challenge. He said the proceeds to the challenge would be channeled at improving the lives of community members.

“What you did today will go a long way in helping to improve the lives of the people and I encourage you to continue with this spirit of volunteerism,” he said. Morupule Coal Mine, SESIRO and Stanbic Bank sponsored the event amongst others.

Other winners include Kitso Moseki in the 60 km youth men, Kebaone Morolong in the junior women’s, Dube Thulani and Wayne Odiseng in the senior’s men and women respectively.

Moagi Segwaba won the 110 Km master’s category, Kaelo Tabolane won the veteran’s category, Dube Nkolomo clinched the Elite category male and Thokodzu Neela won the women’s elite race. Thabang Masego of BotRail won the 110km Juniors.




A kuna mathata

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper