Latest News

The fuel crisis has entered its second week without a solution in sigh...
During the lockdown, some Batswana spent loads of money buying alcohol...
Botswana will be forced to fast-track projects meant to ensure long-te...
The outbreak of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has brought a new ...

Efforts To Scupper Chiefs Meeting Fail As Molome Returns

Chiefs' meeting went ahead despite plans to stop it
Mochudi Centre Chiefs members have voted in Ernest Molome as the new chairperson of the club at their annual general meeting (AGM) held at Molefi Senior Seconday School in Mochudi on Saturday.

Molome, who was said to be attending a funeral at the time, was unopposed for the position. Molome’s election follows the end of the transitional committee tenure which began in June in a bid to reconcile two warring factions fighting for the control of the club.

The transitional committee was formed after a court order, which entailed the two factions to come up with an interim committee that will hold fort temporarily until a new committee was elected.

The interim committee was led by Christopher Molomo as the chairperson and had four members from each faction as well as one member who was deemed to be neutral.

There was a letter, purportedly written by a disgruntled section of Chiefs members, claiming they had not been informed about the meeting, but that did not stop the AGM from proceeding.

However before the elections, Molomo informed Chiefs general membership that they had received a letter purporting to be from some members of the club saying they were not informed about the Saturday meeting. The members also stated in their letter that they are withdrawing Ramocha Tsieng, Kitso Maswena and Molomo from the transitional committee.

The members stated that since they are the ones who put in the said members in the transitional committee, they are

withdrawing them since some sections of the court order were not followed.

One of their complaints was that the financial audit that was supposed to have been conducted was not carried out. However, Molomo said it was difficult to recognise the letter because, amongst other things, they were not sure that the people who signed it or listed to have been at the meeting, which decided that the letter be written are members of the club. Interestingly, Tsieng and Maswena were not present at the elective AGM.

At the AGM, the general membership also endorsed a decision to retain the transitional committee which will deal specifically with the financial audit and the constitutional review. The committee will, however not run the club. The decision to retain the committee for the two reasons was based on the fact that they have to finish what they were tasked to do by the court order.

Meanwhile, Molomo was voted in as the new president of the club while Raymond Tsheko is the vice chairperson. Clifford Mogomotsi returns as the manager with Ridwell Moremi ushered in as the treasurer while Reuben Lekorwe and Lebogang Seboni were selected as secretary general and vice respectively. Pollen Makgane, Rapula Moetlo and Reginald Madisa are additional members.





Motion of no confidence

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper