Last Updated
Monday 01 September 2014, 06:00 am.
Stardust Land Management Programme Can Be Exported

It is not every day that Botswana celebrates an achievement in the area of homegrown ICT innovation. To learn that a web based computer programme used today to manage land allocation and land ownership in Botswana by landboards and the parent ministry is a product of homegrown talent is indeed a cause to celebrate.
By Monitor Editor Mon 14 Oct 2013, 15:00 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Stardust Land Management Programme Can Be Exported








It is quite interesting yet again to learn that the genius behind the computer programme actually produced it for free for his beloved government. He needs to be saluted for such a patriotic spirit. 

One may argue that the computer genius as an employee of the Kgatleng Landboard was duty bound to deliver the stardust programme; but he could still have used the precious time and resources within government to develop his programme and then patent it for himself and become an instant billionaire with a land management programme that could be the answer to all land management problems in Africa. While some may dismiss the developer as someone who let the opportunity to get rich slip off his hands, he deserves to be recognised as the passionate patriot who may have saved Botswana millions of Pula by creating a smooth running software.

We acknowledge the fact that the Ministry of Local government recently recognised the developer at a glittering ceremony, but it is also our considered view that innovations such as this deserve to be rewarded handsomely. The huge ICT success also shows us that Botswana education is not all bad, considering that the developer of STARDUST, Moses McGeoff is a product of the University of Botswana (UB). Indeed the UB can also take credit at producing such an alumni. 

As a nation we also rejoice at this achievement that proves  talent in the area of IT and not just in sport, beautiful women and the arts. For the Ministry of Local Government and the Government of Botswana, there is need to patent this computer programme and market it to other governments as a solution to the land management crisis similar to the one Botswana is currently addressing.

It is our humble view that when patented and marketed well this computer programme has the potential to earn the country revenue.



EditorialEditorial
Mon 25 Aug 2014, 17:02 pm
Mon 11 Aug 2014, 13:58 pm
Mon 14 Jul 2014, 16:03 pm
Mon 23 Jun 2014, 10:44 am
Mon 09 Jun 2014, 17:49 pm
Mon 02 Jun 2014, 17:25 pm
Mon 26 May 2014, 14:26 pm
Mon 19 May 2014, 14:13 pm
Mon 12 May 2014, 17:13 pm
Mon 05 May 2014, 12:12 pm
Mon 28 Apr 2014, 11:05 am
Mon 14 Apr 2014, 14:16 pm
Mon 07 Apr 2014, 10:51 am
Mon 31 Mar 2014, 16:56 pm
Mon 24 Mar 2014, 15:20 pm
Mon 17 Mar 2014, 15:19 pm
Mon 10 Mar 2014, 16:25 pm
Mon 03 Mar 2014, 14:47 pm
Mon 24 Feb 2014, 15:33 pm
Mon 17 Feb 2014, 16:04 pm
Mon 03 Feb 2014, 15:54 pm
Mon 20 Jan 2014, 18:19 pm
Mon 13 Jan 2014, 17:08 pm
Mon 16 Dec 2013, 15:47 pm
Mon 09 Dec 2013, 15:39 pm
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Monday, 01 Sep 2014
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   8.9047
1 GBP = Pula   14.7929
1 EUR = Pula   11.6959
1 YEN = Pula   0.0855
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8346
1 Pula = USD   0.1123
1 Pula = GBP   0.0676
1 Pula = EUR   0.0855
1 Pula = YEN   11.7
1 Pula = ZAR   1.1982
Banner Image
  • Previous
    Lucy Poster
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 29 Aug - Thursday 04 Sep :::
    Lucy
    Tammy
    Hard To Get
    Sex Tape
    The Expendables 3
  • Previous
    Tammy Poster
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 29 Aug - Thursday 04 Sep :::
    Tammy
    Lucy
    Sex Tape
    Think Like A Man Too
    Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Previous
    Tammy Poster
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 29 Aug - Thursday 04 Sep :::
    Tammy
    Lucy
    Sex Tape
    The Expendables 3
    Hercules
    Think Like A Man Too
    Guardians of the Galaxy