The Monitor :: Big Up Women Softball Team But…..
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Saturday 24 August 2019, 11:44 am.
Banners
Big Up Women Softball Team But…..

The impressive win by the women's team over their South African counterparts is a cause for celebration.
By Monitor Editor Mon 13 May 2019, 11:48 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Big Up Women Softball Team But…..








Botswana’s senior women’s team brushed aside their long time rivals, South Africa in a highly charged Africa Olympic qualifier played over the weekend.

In the order of things, the local women had a mountain to climb as they went to the tournament without going through the norm of a training camp. The team was assembled in a rush after playing BoFiNeT softball league in the past weekend.

The side was thrown into the deep end by playing three matches in the first day. However, the arrangement might have served as a motivation moving towards the finals. The team under the watchful eye of Tawina Phibion proved that they are a force to reckon with as they stood above all in the continent.

The team arrived back home yesterday and now the real work begins. As for Phibion, he has proved beyond reasonable doubt that he is one of the best women’s coaches in the country with his club, Police, after recently winning the Komatsu Jwaneng Easter Extravaganza. On the league front, they regrouped after losing top players to Panthers at the beginning of the season.  It is impressive that Phibion has brought his winning formula to the national side.

The icing on the cake is that majority of the players are youngsters, hungry to prove themselves and also excited to be in the national team. With that spirit in place, nothing can stop them from winning.

Meanwhile, we celebrate government’s

Banners

effort to support the sport. For example, when it was announced that softball was making a comeback to Olympics, the government came on-board to assist Botswana Softball Association (BSA) with funding to prepare the team and make sure that they go through all stages leading to Tokyo 2020. Quite clearly, this was not an overnight thing and obviously not a walk in the park. We urge all stakeholders to play their part and make sure that the Botswana team does not disappoint at the next stage. It is now time for serious training to be undertaken if the team is to become the first to represent Africa in Tokyo 2020. We do note that, time is also not on their side since the final stage is scheduled for July. Therefore, the association must race against time if plans they have in place are to be a reality.

Maybe it is then when we can say to Botswana is a softball powerhouse and Thabo Thamane, EXCO and technical team can stand up, shoulders up, chests out. You made us proud! As for the private sector, the time is now to come on board.

Strike now when the iron is still hot. Avoid playing the wait and see game, whereby you celebrate the team after it has won. It is only if we work together that we can take sport in this country to greater heights.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 13 May 2019, 11:48 am
Mon 06 May 2019, 11:39 am
Mon 29 Apr 2019, 11:32 am
Mon 15 Apr 2019, 11:34 am
Mon 08 Apr 2019, 11:33 am
Mon 01 Apr 2019, 11:41 am
Mon 25 Mar 2019, 11:17 am
Mon 18 Mar 2019, 11:15 am
Mon 04 Mar 2019, 11:42 am
Mon 25 Feb 2019, 11:32 am
Mon 18 Feb 2019, 11:10 am
Mon 11 Feb 2019, 11:56 am
Mon 04 Feb 2019, 17:22 pm
Mon 28 Jan 2019, 11:12 am
Mon 21 Jan 2019, 11:11 am
Mon 14 Jan 2019, 11:49 am
Mon 17 Dec 2018, 12:11 pm
Mon 10 Dec 2018, 11:12 am
Mon 03 Dec 2018, 11:30 am
Mon 26 Nov 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 19 Nov 2018, 11:15 am
Mon 12 Nov 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 05 Nov 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 29 Oct 2018, 11:27 am
Mon 22 Oct 2018, 11:41 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 24 Aug - Saturday 24 Aug :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 24 Aug - Saturday 24 Aug :::
Selefu
Masisi, Khama
Banners

gramstalker

Banners