Mmegi Online :: Arrears to banks near P6bn
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 24 May 2019, 14:25 pm.
Banners
Arrears to banks near P6bn

Arrears to commercial banks reached P5.97 billion in November last year, with at least P2.73 billion of that figure attributable to households.
By Mbongeni Mguni Wed 13 Feb 2019, 18:26 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Arrears to banks near P6bn








The November total for all outstanding arrears is the highest in several years, according to the latest figures from the Bank of Botswana.

According to the central bank, 2018 opened with arrears at P5.3 billion, which then dipped to P5.2 billion in June, before closing near P6 billion in November.

Arrears among households opened 2018 at P2.8 billion, slowing to P2.6 billion before reaching November at P2.73 billion.

Within the

Banners

total arrears as at November 2018, P2 billion was classified as being beyond 180 days overdue, while P1.4 billion was classified as being in ‘specific provisions’, the most extreme extent of arrears.

Within households, P771 million was classified as being in specific provisions by November, representing the majority of the household arrears of P2.73 billion by that month.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Business
Wed 13 Feb 2019, 18:26 pm
Tue 12 Feb 2019, 16:09 pm
Fri 08 Feb 2019, 18:00 pm
Fri 08 Feb 2019, 12:48 pm
Fri 08 Feb 2019, 12:46 pm
Fri 08 Feb 2019, 12:44 pm
Fri 01 Feb 2019, 18:00 pm
Fri 01 Feb 2019, 15:05 pm
Fri 01 Feb 2019, 14:03 pm
Fri 01 Feb 2019, 14:00 pm
Wed 30 Jan 2019, 13:12 pm
Fri 25 Jan 2019, 18:00 pm
Fri 25 Jan 2019, 12:11 pm
Fri 25 Jan 2019, 12:11 pm
Fri 25 Jan 2019, 12:09 pm
Fri 18 Jan 2019, 18:00 pm
Fri 18 Jan 2019, 12:21 pm
Fri 18 Jan 2019, 12:18 pm
Fri 18 Jan 2019, 12:16 pm
Fri 18 Jan 2019, 12:15 pm
Thu 17 Jan 2019, 09:27 am
Tue 15 Jan 2019, 20:48 pm
Fri 11 Jan 2019, 18:00 pm
Fri 11 Jan 2019, 13:40 pm
Fri 11 Jan 2019, 13:37 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 25 May - Saturday 25 May :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 25 May - Saturday 25 May :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 25 May - Saturday 25 May :::
Selefu
Your excellency
Banners
Banners