Mmegi Blogs :: Some markets for the new year
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 18 July 2018, 16:02 pm.
Banners
Some markets for the new year

Itís a new year and itís time to get back up on the writing horse. Itís time to set yourself realistic, practical writing goals, and to start finding new paying markets, contests, residencies and fellowships to apply for.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 12 Jan 2018, 17:42 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: Some markets for the new year








To get you started, I’ve searched around for a few markets, a contest and a residency. Good luck!

1. Bored Teacher blog: The blog pays $50 for posts. According to their submission guidelines: “Our blog is an outlet for all educators to find humor in the chaos of the job, the latest education news, and awesome teaching resources. We welcome submissions on a wide range of topics relating to education and the teacher lifestyle.” All articles must be submitted via email, as a Word file attachment to “mailto:blog@boredteachers.com” blog@boredteachers.com.

Articles used are usually between 500-700 words.

See their complete submission guidelines on their website.

2. Folks, a health magazine: The editors at Folks are looking for people dealing with personal health issues and how they get on with their lives.  They accept both pitches and complete articles. They pay $400 per article. According to their website.

Folks is a daily online magazine dedicated to telling the stories of remarkable people who refuse to be defined by their health issues.” You can send your query or the complete article to “mailto:folks@pillpack.com” folks@pillpack.com.

In the email, explain what condition your article will be about, what the essay is about, a bit about yourself, and any publishing credits that you have. For more complete submission guidelines check here.

3. Ruminate: They publish fiction, nonfiction and poetry. They pay $17/page of poetry (with a maximum of $60 per poem) and $17/400 words for prose. They only accept unpublished work. They also only accept online submissions which can be done here.

From the inside of their magazine, to give you a guide to what they’re looking for, I found this: “Ruminate is a non-profit, reader-supported community chewing on the mysteries of life, faith, and art.

We invite slowing down and paying attention. We love laughter. And we delight in deep reading, contemplative  activism, telling stories, asking questions, and

Banners

doing small things with great love, as Mother Teresa said.”

4. Win a UK Writing Retreat: Arvon runs four and six day writing retreats in the UK and the prize for this writing contest is one of their retreats, although the prize does NOT include transport to the venue (i.e. flight). You should submit a 2,000 word short story to win a place in one of these retreats.

From the website: “To enter, all you have to do is submit a short story (for adults) of no more than 2,000 words. And that’s it. Unlike previous years, there’s no theme for you to base your story on; all you have to do is make sure you’re registered with the website, the subject line of your email should read: ‘W&A Short Story Competition 2018’ and you send it to “mailto:competition@bloomsbury.com” o “competition@bloomsbury.com” competition@bloomsbury.com.

The closing date for entries is midnight on Tuesday 13th February, 2018.

The winner of the competition — along with two runners-up — will be announced on the blog pages of this site in March 2018.” 

Find more information here.

5. Bear Deluxe Magazine: This is quite a unique market for environmental writing. About the magazine from their website: “The Bear Deluxe Magazine is the flagship project of Orlo and is published semi-annually from our headquarters in Portland, Oregon.

The magazine aims to enrich the cultural dialogue about the environment through creative nonfiction, interviews, reportage, essays, reviews, poetry, fiction and visual art published in the soy-based inky, recycled pages of the magazine and online.”

They accept fiction, nonfiction, poetry, articles, essays and creative nonfiction. It’s a paying market, but it’s critical to take a look at a sample of their magazine as it is a niche market.

The magazine is 50% freelance writers and pays on publication. For specific word counts and how to submit check here.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 17:42 pm
Fri 22 Dec 2017, 13:24 pm
Fri 01 Dec 2017, 16:52 pm
Fri 24 Nov 2017, 16:49 pm
Fri 17 Nov 2017, 18:35 pm
Fri 10 Nov 2017, 17:48 pm
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 11:18 am
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 13:09 pm
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 14:39 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 12:48 pm
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 12:31 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 10:34 am
Fri 22 Sep 2017, 15:38 pm
Fri 15 Sep 2017, 13:22 pm
Fri 08 Sep 2017, 16:22 pm
Fri 01 Sep 2017, 14:25 pm
Fri 25 Aug 2017, 16:09 pm
Fri 18 Aug 2017, 15:40 pm
Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:32 pm
Fri 04 Aug 2017, 14:55 pm
Fri 28 Jul 2017, 15:37 pm
Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:22 pm
Fri 14 Jul 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 17:46 pm
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 18:57 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 18 Jul - Wednesday 18 Jul :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 18 Jul - Wednesday 18 Jul :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 18 Jul - Wednesday 18 Jul :::
Selefu
Motion Of NO Confidence
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort