Mmegi Online :: UDC condemns Zimbabwe mutiny
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 13 December 2018, 12:33 pm.
Banners
UDC condemns Zimbabwe mutiny

This is an unedited statement from the Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) issued yesterday in response to Zimbabwe political crisis
By Moeti Mohwasa Fri 17 Nov 2017, 12:44 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: UDC condemns Zimbabwe mutiny








Moeti Mohwasa*

 

The leadership of theUDC has been closely monitoring unfolding events in Zimbabwe. As a matter of principle, we are opposed to military interference in politics, as well as seizure of political power through unconstitutional means.

It is in this light that the UDC calls upon the Zimbabwe Defence Force (ZDF) to expeditiously hand over power to an interim civilian Government of National Unity (GNU) that is drawn from a broad coalition, which represents a cross-section of the country’s political landscape with mediation of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security.

The GNU’s immediate task should be to bring Zimbabwe back to normalcy with the assistance of the international community, and set the country on the path to national reconciliation, as well as healing the effects of traumatising political violence, and restoration of the economy.

The UDC calls for restraint, and respect for human rights and dignity, as well as the rule of law. We urge all parties to avoid acts of arbitrary retribution against opponents.

The UDC further calls upon the military to retreat from the political space to the barracks, and not interfere with the political process. After leading the military to intervene in the country’s

Banners

politics, regardless of the reasons for doing so, General Constantino Chiwenga can no longer continue as chief of the defence forces. A process should, therefore, be set in motion for him to retire with all his benefits in the shortest time possible, most preferably as soon as the GNU has been constituted.

Over the years, the security organs – the military, police and intelligence services – have been deployed to suppress political dissent and subvert the will of the people of Zimbabwe.

This was done with the sole purpose to prop up Robert Mugabe, and keep him in power. As Zimbabwe begins what we hope will be a period of rebirth, we call for complete depoliticisation of all the security organs in Zimbabwe, and their transformation into professional and apolitical State institutions.

Ultimately, the destiny of Zimbabwe should be determined by Zimbabweans themselves in an environment that allows all citizens to express their free will, without intimidation and coercion. We urge all parties to work towards the creation of an environment that will allow Zimbabweans to express their democratic choice in a free and fair election supervised by the international community.

 

*Moeti Mohwasa,

UDC Head of Communications

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Opinion & Analysis
Fri 17 Nov 2017, 12:44 pm
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 11:42 am
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 13:03 pm
Thu 26 Oct 2017, 15:16 pm
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 13:53 pm
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 15:01 pm
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 13:40 pm
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 13:37 pm
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 13:35 pm
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 12:07 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 10:27 am
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 09:41 am
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 09:41 am
Tue 26 Sep 2017, 15:42 pm
Fri 22 Sep 2017, 15:33 pm
Fri 22 Sep 2017, 14:02 pm
Wed 20 Sep 2017, 12:56 pm
Fri 15 Sep 2017, 13:08 pm
Fri 08 Sep 2017, 16:11 pm
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 18:23 pm
Fri 01 Sep 2017, 14:16 pm
Fri 01 Sep 2017, 14:15 pm
Thu 31 Aug 2017, 16:18 pm
Wed 30 Aug 2017, 17:11 pm
Fri 25 Aug 2017, 16:32 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Thursday 13 Dec - Thursday 13 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 13 Dec - Thursday 13 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 13 Dec - Thursday 13 Dec :::
Selefu
Masisi, Khama
Banners
Banners
resim yükle