The Monitor :: Let the city have fun
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 14 November 2018, 18:34 pm.
Banners
Let the city have fun

One of the popular end of year festivals in Gaborone has been the beach party for the last couple of years.
By Monitor Editor Mon 08 Dec 2014, 12:29 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Let the city have fun








It has been growing in popularity with its water theme in a land locked country notorious for its scarce water resources.The idea of a beach party in Botswana, let alone in Gaborone, the driest city in Botswana is both funny and exciting.

When one goes to the beach party, however, they are confronted by the stark contrast of a venue with water everywhere, thanks to the Lion’s Park water themes, where the event has been traditionally hosted for the last five years or so.

There is no doubt that this activity has a lot of positive returns when gauged against the few incidents of petty crime.

The conservative section of the community, however, has weighed in and called for the ban of events like the beach party because, in their view, the beach party is all about sexual immorality.

It would seem the conservative section of our people find it difficult to accept that morality issues can be so diverse.

Sometimes we need to hold back and let others exercise their freedom of choice; after all they are

Banners

responsible adults.

Should our children, in pursuit of freedom to enjoy themselves, be seen travelling ion buses and aircrafts to have fun in Durban beaches, Cape Town or Johannesburg, where society does not impose their moral judgments on tourists?

It is a fact that the organisers of the beach Party have lost the Lion’s Park and its water themes mainly due to complaints from moralists.

This past weekend their event was a near flop as moralists in Tlokweng blocked the party for almost six hours, until the organisers presented them with a court order.

As a city, Gaborone deserves to be known as a place of fun, attracting tourists, and entertaining its willing dwellers. After all, no one is forced into this fun, it is attended by choice, people buy expensive tickets first to be able to and have fun; and it is not for the under18’s.

It is high time we theme our city as the city of fun, where tourists from the region can come and peacefully have fun with us, it is tourism.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 08 Dec 2014, 12:29 pm
Mon 01 Dec 2014, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Nov 2014, 15:41 pm
Mon 17 Nov 2014, 09:02 am
Mon 10 Nov 2014, 16:23 pm
Mon 03 Nov 2014, 17:28 pm
Mon 27 Oct 2014, 17:08 pm
Mon 20 Oct 2014, 16:41 pm
Mon 13 Oct 2014, 16:58 pm
Mon 06 Oct 2014, 06:59 am
Mon 22 Sep 2014, 16:33 pm
Mon 08 Sep 2014, 12:30 pm
Mon 01 Sep 2014, 10:11 am
Mon 25 Aug 2014, 17:02 pm
Mon 11 Aug 2014, 13:58 pm
Mon 14 Jul 2014, 16:03 pm
Mon 23 Jun 2014, 10:44 am
Mon 09 Jun 2014, 17:49 pm
Mon 02 Jun 2014, 17:25 pm
Mon 26 May 2014, 14:26 pm
Mon 19 May 2014, 14:13 pm
Mon 12 May 2014, 17:13 pm
Mon 05 May 2014, 12:12 pm
Mon 28 Apr 2014, 11:05 am
Mon 14 Apr 2014, 14:16 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
  • Previous
    Peppermint
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Peppermint
    Halloween
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
Selefu
Tla gae! Ke sharpo.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort