Mmegi Online :: Reinstate BDF in police patrols
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 20 September 2019, 16:30 pm.
Banners
Reinstate BDF in police patrols

Crime continues to be a monster terrorising our nation. Every year, the police register a significant number of murder cases, rapes, armed robberies, theft and house break-ins. This is a serious concern.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 10 May 2019, 15:52 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Reinstate BDF in police patrols








For quite some time, the media has been inundated with reports of either brutal killings carried on weekends on innocent souls, but the police have in most cases, struggled to catch the perpetrators.

Our streets are not safe and something needs to be done to deal with this. Often times, these criminals are repeat offenders.

But dealing with crime needs a holistic approach.

We know the Botswana Police Services have tried to deal with the issue, but they are most times overwhelmed.

At some point, crime levels especially petty crime, seemed to have gone down as the police had teamed up the Botswana Defence Force (BDF) on patrols at nights.

For instance, there is need to improve police visibility especially in high density areas such as Mogoditshane and Gaborone West, which are known to be havens for criminals. Rape and murder cases occur everyday in these places.    

There is need to reinstate BDF patrols to deal with this issue.

Officers should be unleashed on the streets, particularly at identified hotspots, while dedicated detectives track and arrest suspects wanted for both organised and repeat violent crimes.

We all know that many murders are also committed

Banners

during predictable times, specifically over weekends so targeting these periods could significantly reduce crime.

Again, the judicial system should try to balance justice with the interests of the society if we are to win this war against rate of crime.

It is not the first time that this has been said but it has to be reiterated.

The community should also take part because most of these criminals are our brothers, fathers or even sisters and mothers, but we sometimes turn a blind eye and defend their evil deeds.

It is wrong. That attitude on its own is suicidal because as societies we are breeding murderers and thieves.

Our society is not at peace. We still have high levels of crime.

By deploying resources and focusing efforts ton addressing them using data-guided methods, the country could significantly reduce overall crime levels and attain a safer Botswana.

 

Today's thought

 “The police are the public and the public are the police; the police being only members of the public who are paid to give full time attention to duties which are incumbent on every citizen in the interests of communitywelfare and existence.”

– Robert Peel

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 10 May 2019, 15:52 pm
Fri 03 May 2019, 11:22 am
Fri 26 Apr 2019, 11:15 am
Thu 18 Apr 2019, 11:46 am
Fri 12 Apr 2019, 11:57 am
Fri 05 Apr 2019, 11:28 am
Fri 29 Mar 2019, 11:23 am
Fri 22 Mar 2019, 11:48 am
Fri 15 Mar 2019, 11:33 am
Fri 08 Mar 2019, 11:48 am
Fri 01 Mar 2019, 10:51 am
Fri 22 Feb 2019, 11:08 am
Fri 15 Feb 2019, 10:53 am
Fri 08 Feb 2019, 11:20 am
Fri 01 Feb 2019, 11:30 am
Fri 25 Jan 2019, 11:01 am
Fri 18 Jan 2019, 11:40 am
Fri 11 Jan 2019, 11:28 am
Fri 21 Dec 2018, 13:19 pm
Fri 14 Dec 2018, 11:48 am
Fri 07 Dec 2018, 11:28 am
Fri 30 Nov 2018, 11:44 am
Fri 23 Nov 2018, 11:38 am
Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:58 am
Fri 09 Nov 2018, 11:07 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Sunday 22 Sep - Sunday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Sunday 22 Sep - Sunday 22 Sep :::
Selefu
Mama! Mama!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners