The Monitor :: Where Will Mob Justice Take Us!
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 23 April 2019, 14:59 pm.
Banners
Where Will Mob Justice Take Us!

It’s understandable why many people are tired of petty thieves, and sometimes get frustrated with the justice system, when they see the same culprits walking the streets.
By Monitor Editor Mon 04 Feb 2019, 17:22 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Where Will Mob Justice Take Us!








Of late, Batswana seem to be so outraged with thieves that they are always ready to pounce on alleged thieves, a minute someone shouts word thief.

Mob justice has sometimes even led to suspects dying at the hands of those who usually say ‘they are fixing the country’.

However, the reality of the matter is that mob justice also has its own challenges, as at times an innocent person might end up badly injured or dead, as a result of a mistaken identity. Yes, the justice system needs to be reviewed, and impose stiffer penalties on criminals, who seem to believe they have the right to terrorise others.

There is yet another issue, that is shop lifting, which can be done by people of different ages, from the young to the old.

We all know that shoplifting is wrong, and it is also punishable by law, but it is important for shop managers and owners to follow the right channels when they catch shoplifters.

Recently, there were reports of a certain manager who caught a 12-year- old boy shoplifting through the store’s inhouse CCTV cameras.

It is alleged that the manager dragged the boy to the storeroom, stripped him, and battered him while naked, and warned him never to steal again. The boy according to his

Banners

mother sustained injuries, which kept him away from school for three days.

Most communities believe that it is the responsibility of the elderly to ensure that our young ones grow up in an upright way, to ensure that they grow into responsible law abiding citizens. This system if properly practised is a noble one, even though some parents do not take kindly to non-family members meddling into their family affairs.

There is no doubt that what the young boy did was wrong and he needed to know that and be warned never to do that again, but there are channels the store manager should have followed.

The store manager should have sought assistance from law enforcement officers, who would have engaged the boy’s family since he is a minor.

The manager by taking the law into his own hands, of course put the young boy’s health at risk, and it could translate into a serious offence for him.

Another challenge is that since the store did not involve parents, there was a possibility that parents would have been clueless about the shoplifting, and not play any role in making sure their son knows that shoplifting is a crime, punishable by law.

Let us just learn to allow relevant authorities to do their work diligently. 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 04 Feb 2019, 17:22 pm
Mon 28 Jan 2019, 11:12 am
Mon 21 Jan 2019, 11:11 am
Mon 14 Jan 2019, 11:49 am
Mon 17 Dec 2018, 12:11 pm
Mon 10 Dec 2018, 11:12 am
Mon 03 Dec 2018, 11:30 am
Mon 26 Nov 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 19 Nov 2018, 11:15 am
Mon 12 Nov 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 05 Nov 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 29 Oct 2018, 11:27 am
Mon 22 Oct 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 15 Oct 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 08 Oct 2018, 11:32 am
Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:05 am
Mon 17 Sep 2018, 10:50 am
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 03 Sep 2018, 10:27 am
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 11:58 am
Mon 20 Aug 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 13 Aug 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 06 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 23 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Avengers: Endgame
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 23 Apr - Thursday 02 May :::
    Avengers: Endgame
    The Queen's Corgi
    Little
  • Previous
    Little
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Tuesday 23 Apr - Thursday 02 May :::
    Little
    The Queen's Corgi
    Avengers: Endgame
  • Previous
    The Queen
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 23 Apr - Thursday 02 May :::
    The Queen's Corgi
    Little
    Avengers: Endgame
Selefu
Moitoi
Banners
Banners