Mmegi Online :: Masisi, Khama should smoke a peace pipe
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 16 November 2018, 13:42 pm.
Banners
Masisi, Khama should smoke a peace pipe

The rift between President Mokgweetsi Masisi and his predecessor Ian Khama is a cause for concern to all Batswana. This proved to be a big issue as recently at a fully packed Kgotla meeting in Serowe, one man identified as Wame Rapitsenyane, an Agriculture teacher from Lotsane Senior Secondary School ,quizzed the President about alleged tensions between him and Khama.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 02 Nov 2018, 11:04 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Masisi, Khama should smoke a peace pipe








Many applauded and ululated as they wanted to know what was going on.

Refusing Khama the use aircraft after Masisi was one of those who passed the law to allow the former president to use ‘any’ mode of transport he desires; not allowing Khama to get a lift from Debswana aircraft; removal of Khama staff from his residence and office, the list goes on.

It was a pleasant read for many, a story we carry elsewhere in the paper stating that Khama and Masisi are calling each other and government has decided to reimburse Khama for the costs he incurred flying to Letlhakane.

Though we are not happy that P50,000.00 of taxpayer’s money has been lost where it could have been saved, we are glad our leaders avoided a court battle and resolved the matter amicably.

Just last week, Masisi distanced himself from the decision to recall staff working for Khama. This was another great move by Masisi to ensure that he and the former president can dialogue about everything else and be at peace.

There are some excellent programmes like National

Banners

Housing Appeal that was spearheaded by Khama.

It would be great to see the two men work together to keep it going.

Of course, Masisi is the man in charge and has advisors all over, but Khama can always advise one way or the other as he is the immediate former president.

The two working in harmony will also be beneficial to the ruling party as they will all be pulling in one direction.

This will make opposition parties get serious and Batswana become the bigger winners when the political arena is sound and robust.

We hope that going forward, the two men will continue having a dialogue for bettering the country.

We urge Masisi to fulfil the entitlements of former presidents in accordance with the provisions of the Presidents (Pensions and Retirement Benefits) to the letter.

Reneging from the Constitutional entitlements will result in unnecessary lawsuits that will be funded by the taxpayer.

 

Today’s thought 

“Moments of kindness and reconciliation are worth having, even if the parting has to come sooner or later.” 

 – Alice Munro

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 02 Nov 2018, 11:04 am
Fri 26 Oct 2018, 11:45 am
Fri 19 Oct 2018, 11:59 am
Fri 12 Oct 2018, 11:47 am
Fri 05 Oct 2018, 11:26 am
Fri 28 Sep 2018, 11:16 am
Fri 21 Sep 2018, 11:37 am
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 11:20 am
Fri 07 Sep 2018, 10:58 am
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 11:05 am
Fri 24 Aug 2018, 10:19 am
Fri 17 Aug 2018, 11:31 am
Fri 10 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Fri 03 Aug 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 27 Jul 2018, 11:47 am
Fri 20 Jul 2018, 11:35 am
Fri 13 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Fri 06 Jul 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 11:34 am
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 11:40 am
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 11:25 am
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 11:12 am
Fri 25 May 2018, 11:53 am
Fri 18 May 2018, 11:31 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Sunday 18 Nov - Sunday 18 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Sunday 18 Nov - Sunday 18 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Sunday 18 Nov - Sunday 18 Nov :::
Selefu
Tla gae! Ke sharpo.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort