The Monitor :: BDP Should Lead By Example
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 18 September 2018, 13:48 pm.
Banners
BDP Should Lead By Example

The recently held Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) primary elections, or Bulela Ditswe as they are popularly known, have raised many eyebrows. BDP, as the ruling party is expected to lead by example, thus be able to conduct free and fair elections.
By Monitor Editor Mon 03 Sep 2018, 10:27 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: BDP Should Lead By Example








But its primaries were marred by controversies; ranging from voter trafficking, to missing ballot papers, and all other sorts of challenges. The BDP central committee is yet to deal with the issues and complaints raised by many hopefuls who lost in elections, many of whom, declared that they have not accepted the results. This means there hasn’t been a ruling yet on whether any of grievances raised hold water or not.

Should it be confirmed that all or most of the complaints raised, after the announcement of the Bulela Ditswe results is true, then we still have a long way to go. The question then is; If a candidate can cheat during the party’s primary elections, what more should we expect from general elections?

Yes, the general elections are conducted by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), which many doubt its autonomy largely due to the fact that it is funded by government. Now, with the public’s lack of trust in the independence of the IEC, it should be up to the ruling party, to conduct its election in the highest level of transparency and give the elections an integrity that cannot be questioned.

This commentary is not intended to suggest that any of the candidates who won cheated,

Banners

but to implore the BDP to thoroughly investigate all the allegations put forth and ensure that all those found guilty of trying to deny the electorate the right to choose their preferred representative are held accountable. Not only that, the findings should be made public, so that BDP members and the nation at large are at ease, with their potential representatives.

Meanwhile, the decision by the Office of the President (OP) to make a public announcement regarding the use of Electoral Voting Machines (EVMs) is a welcome development. The OP in a press statement declared: “Since the Electoral (Amendment) Act of 2016 is not in operation, the 2019 General Elections will be conducted in accordance with the Electoral Act [Cap. 02:09], which does not provide for the use of EVMs, nor prohibits supplementary registration”.

This is mostly definitely music to many citizens’ ears, as a good number of citizenry raised concern about the sudden eagerness to adopt use of EVMs in the upcoming general elections. The importance of consultation in a democracy cannot be over emphasised. It is extremely important for leaders and the public to do more, to ensure that there is meaningful participation, which will enhance democracy, and benefit the nation at large.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 03 Sep 2018, 10:27 am
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 11:58 am
Mon 20 Aug 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 13 Aug 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 06 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 23 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Mon 09 Jul 2018, 11:51 am
Mon 25 Jun 2018, 16:12 pm
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 11:24 am
Mon 11 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Mon 04 Jun 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 28 May 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 21 May 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 14 May 2018, 11:56 am
Mon 07 May 2018, 11:38 am
Mon 30 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Apr 2018, 11:55 am
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 11:49 am
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 17:54 pm
Mon 05 Mar 2018, 17:58 pm
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 14:26 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Botswana
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort