Mmegi Online :: Masisi’s spring-cleaning stubborn stains
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 16 November 2018, 11:44 am.
Banners
Masisi’s spring-cleaning stubborn stains

President Mokgweetsi Masisi and his camp of advisers would not by any means have expected an easy ride in the efforts to institute his new style of governance or the strategic objectives of his tenure.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 24 Aug 2018, 10:19 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Masisi’s spring-cleaning stubborn stains








Masisi, a seasoned administrator particularly in the highest echelons of public service, would only have been too familiar with the predictable resistance that naturally greets any attempt to change the status quo.  This is even more pronounced when that change is attempted at national level, beginning with the public service and confronting established mindsets, practices, attitudes and policies.

The changes include tweaking the Cabinet two months after inauguration, firing the spy chief, reviewing the alcohol and hunting bans, pledging to fast-track privatisation and the streamlining of the civil service, and extending an olive branch to unions, opposition political parties and the media.

Perhaps what the new President possibly did not expect was that the greatest resistance would emerge from within his own party, in the form of his predecessor, who is visibly building an alternative centre of power. Many of the policies and practices Masisi is confronting now are the product of the decade spent under Ian Khama and it is clear that the new President, who spent four of those years deputising Khama, is keen for change.

Unlike with South Africa’s ANC, whose leaders at the national governance level are strictly directed by party policy and objectives, the Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) maps out broad objectives such as unemployment, poverty alleviation and citizen empowerment, but leaves the actual policy direction the prerogative of the President of the day, who is guided by a mesh of laws, policies and other parameters.

Policies and resolutions adopted at

Banners

party level may or may not surface as National Assembly bills, but issues such as the hunting ban, the alcohol restrictions, establishment of the DIS, the hostility towards trade unions and media and the maverick foreign policy, were clearly Khama wielding his prerogative.

Masisi, enjoying the same latitude, has every right within the national and BDP constitutions to go about his presidency the way he sees fit, with the overarching objective being the upliftment of the lives of Batswana, unfettered by any appearances of indebtedness to his predecessor. The challenge the new President however has, is that while he would ordinarily have preferred a more gradual approach to the institution of his desired changes, he has the huge burden of delivering an attractive proposition to voters in under a year, when the general elections are held.

After 10 years of Khama’s rule, the BDP’s popular vote dropped to a record low and Masisi has just months to attend to the issues that have driven the disaffection.  Furthermore he has to unite the party - which includes applying stain removers in certain stubborn patches – and unveiling a product that Batswana can find attractive next October.

The spring-cleaning is clearly underway within the party and in national governance. Masisi will need to be resolute to see the job through to the end.

Today's thought

"It is only through labour and painful effort, by grim energy and resolute courage, that we move on to better things."

-Theodore Roosevelt

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 24 Aug 2018, 10:19 am
Fri 17 Aug 2018, 11:31 am
Fri 10 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Fri 03 Aug 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 27 Jul 2018, 11:47 am
Fri 20 Jul 2018, 11:35 am
Fri 13 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Fri 06 Jul 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 11:34 am
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 11:40 am
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 11:25 am
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 11:12 am
Fri 25 May 2018, 11:53 am
Fri 18 May 2018, 11:31 am
Fri 11 May 2018, 11:43 am
Fri 04 May 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 27 Apr 2018, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Apr 2018, 11:22 am
Fri 13 Apr 2018, 11:09 am
Fri 06 Apr 2018, 11:02 am
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 06:00 am
Fri 23 Mar 2018, 17:50 pm
Fri 16 Mar 2018, 10:12 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 17 Nov - Saturday 17 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 17 Nov - Saturday 17 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 17 Nov - Saturday 17 Nov :::
Selefu
Tla gae! Ke sharpo.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort