Mmegi Online :: Opposition playing dice with Batswana’s future
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 18 September 2018, 13:48 pm.
Banners
Opposition playing dice with Batswana’s future

It is just over a year before the 2019 general elections, but Botswana has no credible opposition party to challenge the ruling Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) for power.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 20 Jul 2018, 11:35 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Opposition playing dice with Batswana’s future








With all due respect to the newly formed opposition, the Alliance for Progressives (AP), which looks stable but an untried infant without any experience of contesting general elections, the disturbing reality is that there is no other party to challenge the BDP in the coming elections, a situation too bad for democracy.

Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC), a coalition between four Botswana opposition parties, is on the brink of collapse following key resolutions made by two of the main contracting parties, the Botswana Congress Party (BCP) and Botswana National Front (BNF) over the weekend.

UDC was expected to mount a serious challenge to topple BDP from government in the next elections. However, the current scenario makes it seem to be a far-fetched thought.

UDC president, Duma Boko has a mammoth task to convince the contracting partners to get together back on the table and try to rebuild in less than a year what took years to build.

Hard as it may look, Boko has to do something to convince the parties in the umbrella to see each other as partners and mates going into a tough battle, not enemies.

The fight over ones’ constituencies is uncalled for. Although no party should do the spadework for others or carry the burdens of others, they should understand the model under which the umbrella intended to work and succeed in order to triumph over the stubborn

Banners

BDP.

There seems to be no tolerance and appreciation for each other’s problems within the UDC. It is even problematic if leaders are embroiled in the fighting and are hurling insults at one another in the public. Unless the leadership realises that no opposition party can defeat the well-resourced BDP on its own, then we can safely say we have no opposition. Time is ticking for the umbrella leadership to put its house in order. Shifting the blame poles time and again will not do the ‘people’s project’ any good but more harm.

The Botswana Movement for Democracy and the Botswana People’s Party should also accept that realistically they do not offer a lot to the UDC as the other partners.

They should not be stubborn and build their ailing movements so that they are not referred to as empty shells. Building the umbrella has been a tough test on its own already, but it is the partners who are making it a hell of a test. We urge the leaders to find it in their selves to agree on the way forward for the sake of the country’s democracy.

 

Today’s thought 

“There is no denying that Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) is broken and needs to be fixed. The question that this conference has to address is how the UDC can be fixed.” 

– Botswana Congress Party leader,  Dumelang Saleshando

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 20 Jul 2018, 11:35 am
Fri 13 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Fri 06 Jul 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 11:34 am
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 11:40 am
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 11:25 am
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 11:12 am
Fri 25 May 2018, 11:53 am
Fri 18 May 2018, 11:31 am
Fri 11 May 2018, 11:43 am
Fri 04 May 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 27 Apr 2018, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Apr 2018, 11:22 am
Fri 13 Apr 2018, 11:09 am
Fri 06 Apr 2018, 11:02 am
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 06:00 am
Fri 23 Mar 2018, 17:50 pm
Fri 16 Mar 2018, 10:12 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am
Fri 02 Mar 2018, 17:33 pm
Fri 23 Feb 2018, 09:30 am
Fri 16 Feb 2018, 14:57 pm
Fri 09 Feb 2018, 12:25 pm
Fri 02 Feb 2018, 15:55 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Botswana
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort