Mmegi Online :: Athletes' great feat should motivate equal funding
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
Athletes' great feat should motivate equal funding

Local sports lovers’ hearts this week were all ‘white’. Our athletes competing at the ongoing Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast, Australia did the country proud by garnering gold and silver medals.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 13 Apr 2018, 11:09 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Athletes' great feat should motivate equal funding








We fully concur with the Minister of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development, Thapelo Olopeng that these are exciting times in the history of the country’s athletics. He was speaking at the Mascom Top 8 Awards after Isaac Makwala and Amantle Montsho sent Botswana into cloud nine by clinching gold medals in men and women’s 400m this week.

Also making us proud was the youngster Baboloki Thebe, who finished with a silver medal behind Makwala. We will not forget the splendid performance by one of our athlete, Christine Botlogetswe who was making a debut at the Games and finished at number four.

Our hope and encouragement is that Botlogetswe and other athletes do notdespair and see theirs as a learning curve. This is the beginning of good things to come. Success is knocking and next time it will be them celebrating with our beautiful flag after winning gold medals.

They should learn from Montsho who made the biggest comeback after a two-year doping ban. This should be a lesson to them never to give up in life.

As a nation, we are very proud of these athletes, and we agree with the Minister that investment in sports is for generations yet unborn. Companies like Mascom, Orange, Debswana, Botswana Telecommunications Corporation and others should continue their invaluable investments in

Banners

sports.

The feats by these athletes is a clarion call to the powers-that-be  to be disabused from the notion that only football deserves a larger slice of the cake while excelling codes scramble for crumbs from the dining table. Yes, it is common cause that football is the biggest constituency not only in Botswana but the whole world. But in Botswana there is nothing to celebrate as far as football results are concerned. Over the years, we have witnessed sparkling performances from the country’s codes such as athletics, netball, karate, chess and volleyball and these codes have been making the right noise for fair distribution of the sports budget.

These codes are not necessarily advocating for soccer to be starved of funds. They simply are saying we are here and our performances speak for us. Even a blind man can see their sterling performance. These codes have been ignored for far too long and it is high time there is a radical paradigm shift in the distribution of resources to sports codes. On that, note we also send a hearty shout-out to our heroic sports men and women in Australia.

 

Today’s thought 

“We are committed to the development of sport because sport unites people, and it is a sustainable source of employment.” 

– Minister Thapelo Olopeng

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 13 Apr 2018, 11:09 am
Fri 06 Apr 2018, 11:02 am
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 06:00 am
Fri 23 Mar 2018, 17:50 pm
Fri 16 Mar 2018, 10:12 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am
Fri 02 Mar 2018, 17:33 pm
Fri 23 Feb 2018, 09:30 am
Fri 16 Feb 2018, 14:57 pm
Fri 09 Feb 2018, 12:25 pm
Fri 02 Feb 2018, 15:55 pm
Fri 26 Jan 2018, 16:03 pm
Fri 19 Jan 2018, 15:22 pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 13:59 pm
Fri 22 Dec 2017, 10:39 am
Thu 21 Dec 2017, 13:51 pm
Wed 20 Dec 2017, 17:33 pm
Tue 19 Dec 2017, 16:23 pm
Fri 15 Dec 2017, 15:16 pm
Thu 14 Dec 2017, 16:40 pm
Wed 13 Dec 2017, 16:29 pm
Tue 12 Dec 2017, 15:42 pm
Thu 07 Dec 2017, 13:37 pm
Wed 06 Dec 2017, 17:21 pm
Tue 05 Dec 2017, 13:12 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 21 Sep - Friday 21 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 21 Sep - Friday 21 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort