The Monitor :: Alleged Child Rape And Murder Case
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 08 December 2017, 17:25 pm.
Banners
Alleged Child Rape And Murder Case

‘There can be no keener revelation of a society’s soul than the way in which it treats its children’. -Nelson Mandela
By Correspondent Mon 04 Dec 2017, 14:07 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Alleged Child Rape And Murder Case








Child line Botswana has noted with concern the recent report where it is alleged that a 9 year old child was raped and murdered in White City Gaborone.

We wish to first and foremost express our deepest and heartfelt condolences to the family of this innocent soul. The loss of a child in any manner is a terrible experience but for a child to be lost in so violent a manner is especially tragic.

The death of this child underlines once again the challenges we face as a nation in the protection of our children.

Although we have a beautiful legislation in place, Children’s Act of 2009, we cannot avoid stating that there has been a failure in the implementation of this progressive act in a manner extensive enough to protect the most vulnerable members of our society.

Childline Botswana recognizes that the matter is still under Police investigation and as such there is limited space to call on the relevant authorities to behave or respond in a certain way. 

We however wish that this tragedy wakes the country to the peril

Banners

faced by our children on a day to day basis. We call on those working with children to come together and assist in all ways possible to curb the abuse of children in general.

We further call on parents to be far more vigilant in the protection of their children. While in the past it was easy to entrust the care of your children to both relative and non-relatives, we cannot deny the realities of the world of today that requires us to mistrust, as a point of departure some of those we live with for the sake of our children. 

This is particularly critical in light of lack of commitment to the establishment of an easily accessible sex offender’s registry as recommended by the 2009 Children’s Act.We shall follow with keen interest the processes around this tragedy in the hope that it will be dealt with not only expeditiously, but with the awareness of the need to re-look at our commitment to child protection.

 

Childline Botswana

P. O. Box 202195,

Bontleng Gaborone  

Toll free: 0800300900

Tel: 3900900 Fax: 3165824

Email: childlinebotswana@gmail.com

Banners
Banners
Banners


Opinion & Analysis
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 14:07 pm
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 14:07 pm
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 16:18 pm
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 15:18 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:45 pm
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 14:59 pm
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:05 pm
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:02 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 16:49 pm
Tue 03 Oct 2017, 14:15 pm
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 16:16 pm
Mon 18 Sep 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 16:39 pm
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 16:21 pm
Mon 21 Aug 2017, 16:08 pm
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 16:02 pm
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 16:34 pm
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 16:19 pm
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 15:19 pm
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 13:50 pm
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 11:15 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 15:16 pm
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:05 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 08 Dec 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.3734
1 GBP = Pula   14.0252
1 EUR = Pula   12.1951
1 YEN = Pula   0.0915
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7553
1 Pula = USD   0.0964
1 Pula = GBP   0.0713
1 Pula = EUR   0.082
1 Pula = YEN   10.93
1 Pula = ZAR   1.324
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 11 Dec - Monday 11 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 11 Dec - Monday 11 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 11 Dec - Monday 11 Dec :::
Selefu
Out to weed out corruption!
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort