The Monitor :: BMD Heeding To UDC Recommendations Is A Step In The Right Direction
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 25 May 2018, 14:11 pm.
Banners
BMD Heeding To UDC Recommendations Is A Step In The Right Direction

Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) finally decided to call on the Botswana Movement for Democracy (BMD) to hold a fresh congress in January. UDC leadership had always held that the congress held at Matshekge Senior Secondary School did not conduce to the holding of a free, fair and credible congress.
By Monitor Editor Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: BMD Heeding To UDC Recommendations Is A Step In The Right Direction








The remaining BMD leadership seems to have accepted the suggestion, even though some still hold that they do not agree with the decision taken by the UDC. The BMD leadership should nonetheless be applauded for looking at the bigger picture, and agreeing to work towards saving their troubled party.

UDC was formed so that opposition parties could tackle the ruling Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) as a united front, hence the need for the UDC to exercise fairness when dealing with its members. Infighting within the BMD started way before the Bobonong congresses. While reasons have been provided why the UDC could not intervene in the early stages, that intervention was necessary, as it could have perhaps neutralised the in-fights before they spiraled out of control. UDC initially suggested power sharing between the two camps, which were at ‘each other’s throats’ with each camp claiming legitimacy.

The suggestion to hold a fresh congress should have perhaps been made instead of the power-sharing one, which seemed to have angered the Ndaba Gaolathe camp.

Banners

The Gaolathe camp ended up forming Alliance for Progressives (AP), a move, which may have been avoided had the decision come sooner. The Gaolathe camp had always advocated for a fresh congress, after they were denied entry into the Matshekge congress, and ended up holding their own congress, which suggests that had this decision been made early on, maybe the AP might not have been born.

Gaolathe camp seemed to have prepared themselves for both scenarios, as the AP was announced shortly after the UDC announced its suggestion of power sharing between the warring camps. Perhaps the UDC was being strategic, in its suggestions, but the best suggestion seems to have come a little too late.

The suggestion perhaps will bring peace within opposition parties, as the ones who felt the initial decision was not fair to them might now consider joining the coalition. The UDC cannot afford to lose any of the opposition parties, as they stand a better chance to accomplish their mission as an united front.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Life of the Party
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Deadpool 2
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Deadpool 2
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Life of the Party
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Life of the Party
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
Selefu
BDP Chairman
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort