Mmegi Online :: Water shortage troubling
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 15 October 2018, 15:57 pm.
Banners
Water shortage troubling

Despite our national dams now sitting comfortable with adequate water to sustain the nation for some years, water shortage continues.
By Mmegi Editor Tue 23 May 2017, 11:54 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Water shortage troubling








Taps are still running dry with many communities across the country still being forced to compete with livestock and wild animals for water sources. Some villages go for weeks without water supply.

This is despite the fact that we had good rains this year that filled up all the country’s dams including the Gaborone Dam. More disturbing is the fact that some of these water shortages occur right at the areas not far away from the major dams.

In our last Friday edition, we carried a story about the residents of Ngwapa, Mokobeng and Matlhakola villages whose teeth have been discoloured by the poor quality of water they have been forced to drink over the years.

The water also put their health at risk, while their cooking utensils such as pots and electric kettles and clothes do not last longer. These villages are at the foot of Ntimbale Dam.

It is important for Water Utilities Corporation (WUC) to engage in a vigorous strategy that will ensure that the country’s water reaches all the consumers. The first move could be to engage other stakeholders such as the Water Affairs Department, which has decades of experience in water reticulation.

Other players who are always willing to assist are the United Nations agencies, European Union and SADC among others. When he was Minister of Minerals,

Banners

Energy and Water Resources, Kitso Mokaila made an admission that the biggest challenge facing the country is not the shortage of water, but the lack of infrastructure to take the water to the people.

Last week the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development received a P1.52 billion loan from World Bank to address the challenge of poor infrastructure.

We hope that this loan, in addition to other Government funding will be spent properly to address this problem and bring closure to it within shortest possible time.

Because of the ever-growing population, there is need for additional reservoirs in many villages, as well as extension of pipelines. It is not fair for people to be told that they cannot be connected water on reasons that they are outside the map or planning area.

 In some instances it takes months, or even years for WUC to connect water for some applicants, the very reason people are unable to develop their plots within stipulated period of time.

On the other hand, Land Boards are merciless and they are always determined to repossess undeveloped plots.

We can create jobs, produce food, and build houses only if there is water.  WUC should up its game and give us water before we run out of patience.

 

Today’s thought

“Water is the driving force in nature.” 

- Leonardo da Vinci

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Tue 23 May 2017, 11:54 am
Fri 19 May 2017, 09:53 am
Thu 18 May 2017, 11:41 am
Wed 17 May 2017, 05:57 am
Fri 12 May 2017, 11:01 am
Thu 11 May 2017, 11:42 am
Wed 10 May 2017, 11:57 am
Tue 09 May 2017, 11:21 am
Fri 05 May 2017, 11:48 am
Thu 04 May 2017, 11:53 am
Wed 03 May 2017, 11:00 am
Fri 28 Apr 2017, 11:49 am
Thu 27 Apr 2017, 11:13 am
Wed 26 Apr 2017, 11:13 am
Tue 25 Apr 2017, 11:33 am
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 13:11 pm
Thu 20 Apr 2017, 17:11 pm
Wed 19 Apr 2017, 16:09 pm
Thu 13 Apr 2017, 13:41 pm
Wed 12 Apr 2017, 11:40 am
Tue 11 Apr 2017, 11:36 am
Fri 07 Apr 2017, 11:04 am
Thu 06 Apr 2017, 16:36 pm
Wed 05 Apr 2017, 11:11 am
Tue 04 Apr 2017, 11:57 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Baby Mamas
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 10 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Baby Mamas
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    Night School
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    Venom
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Venom
    Baby Mamas
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
  • Previous
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    The Nun
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    Johnny English Strikes Again
Selefu
Stay Calm!
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort