The Monitor :: Bots: Govít For A Person, By A Person
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 12 November 2018, 16:14 pm.
Banners
Bots: Govít For A Person, By A Person

We have been made to believe that democracy is Government for the people by the people. We were fooled. It has since changed, especially in this beloved republic to mean Government for a person by a person.
By Monitor Editor Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Bots: Govít For A Person, By A Person








This is profound under the administration of former army strongman, Lieutenant General Seretse Khama Ian Khama.

Government for a person by a person is a brilliant summation of Khama’s administration. Since joining politics from the Botswana Defence Force (BDF) some 19 years ago, Khama changed the rule of the game. He was allowed to fly BDF choppers despite not being a soldier.

In response the then President Festus Mogae responded that he was the one who allowed him to fly the BDF choppers.

An opposition Botswana Congress Party (BCP) took the matter with the Office of the Ombudsman. The late Ombudsman, Lethebe Maine ruled that it was wrong for Khama to fly the army choppers. But the retired general spit on the Ombudsman’s findings and continued with his hobby.

This was a biggest test to the independence of the Ombudsman and it was proved that this office is a toothless bulldog.

It has been widely reported that the President Pension and Gratuity has been amended to include a helicopter, boat and top of the range vehicles and Parliament last Thursday rubberstamped this greed that was proposed by the Minister in the Presidency Eric

Banners

Molale during the All-Party Caucus. Now former Heads of State would be allowed to seek employment elsewhere if their age permit.

In exchange, the Caucus agreed that all legislators would get four percent salary increase and a whopping 40% increment of their constituency allowance. Little did the MPs know that a Bill intended to increase their salaries and allowances was gazetted on that day.

They have to wait for 30 days before they can debate the issue. That is the calibre of some of our legislators. Sometimes they are just like Khama: birds of same feathers.

We are often told that the economy is not doing well when public servants want salary increment that they deserve. But that is not the case when it comes to Khama.

What Khama demands, Khama gets. The just passed Presidents’ Pension and Retirement Benefits Amendment Bill No. 22 of 2016 is a case in point.

The man is a vulture and only thinks about his own comfort. What have we done to deserve this? How much do we owe General Khama? It is high time Khama stops behaving like Botswana is his own backyard garden.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am
Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am
Mon 27 Mar 2017, 11:30 am
Mon 20 Mar 2017, 11:43 am
Mon 13 Mar 2017, 11:37 am
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 11:34 am
Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:10 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 11:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm
Mon 06 Feb 2017, 11:13 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 13:48 pm
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 16 Jan 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 19 Dec 2016, 13:17 pm
Mon 12 Dec 2016, 12:41 pm
Mon 05 Dec 2016, 12:26 pm
Mon 28 Nov 2016, 12:56 pm
Mon 21 Nov 2016, 16:03 pm
Mon 14 Nov 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
  • Previous
    Peppermint
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Peppermint
    Halloween
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
Selefu
Mabaila
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort