The Monitor :: Are we broke?
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 16 October 2018, 17:21 pm.
Banners
Are we broke?

There has been a chain of events that has left many wondering whether government’s spending power has taken a knock resulting in failure to execute certain key services.
By Monitor Editor Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Are we broke?








This trend is not only starting to show recently, one could count back to  a period spurning  five years or more when primary school and secondary school textbooks and exercise books got a sustained knock that continues up to today. There are no text books, pupils are forced to share the books in the class nowadays, whether it is primary or secondary school level.

At higher education the problem had been precipitating  in recent years resulting in the logjam we found ourselves in today; colleges and universities are being owed tens of millions of Pula by government, some debts going back to a period of 4-5 years. 

Recently Limkokwing showed its frustrations with government’s failure to pay for its  citizens education by withholding all the certificates of the class of 2016, allegedly because they are being owed over P15 million.

In the same week the University of Botswana leaked their financial troubles to another newspaper showing that government had not paid tuition fees for students for donkey years, for decades. 

Everywhere you go, whether it is at Boitekanelo College,

Banners

ABM University College, AFDA College, tertiary institutions are in dire straits, all because government is taking ages to pay them. 

In recent times students at tertiary level have also been taking to the streets complaining about unpaid allowances. 

The deep problem in government cash flow problem at the Ministry which has otherwise been hailed as the most funded, have been exhibiting themselves in the form of government trimming the number of students admitted at tertiary level in recent years, and the numbers have been dropping every year. 

Ironically all these problems would start rearing their ugly heads  right  soon after the start of  a financial year,  fresh from the usual budget speech announcement that the Ministry of education has got the lion’s share of the budget.

Then  you start to wonder, how does the Ministry of the lion’s share of the budget get broke before its financial year, is the money allocated for the Ministry, those billions of Pula really indicative of  the money available or the funds required to run the operations of the Ministry?

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 07 Nov 2016, 12:37 pm
Mon 31 Oct 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 24 Oct 2016, 15:37 pm
Mon 17 Oct 2016, 19:08 pm
Mon 10 Oct 2016, 17:20 pm
Mon 03 Oct 2016, 11:46 am
Mon 26 Sep 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 19 Sep 2016, 11:48 am
Mon 12 Sep 2016, 11:35 am
Mon 05 Sep 2016, 11:16 am
Mon 29 Aug 2016, 11:36 am
Mon 22 Aug 2016, 11:28 am
Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm
Mon 08 Aug 2016, 11:32 am
Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm
Mon 25 Jul 2016, 12:49 pm
Wed 20 Jul 2016, 12:39 pm
Mon 11 Jul 2016, 12:59 pm
Mon 04 Jul 2016, 15:21 pm
Mon 27 Jun 2016, 12:34 pm
Mon 20 Jun 2016, 07:30 am
Mon 13 Jun 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 06 Jun 2016, 12:40 pm
Mon 30 May 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 23 May 2016, 11:58 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Baby Mamas
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 10 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Baby Mamas
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    Night School
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    Venom
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Venom
    Baby Mamas
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
  • Previous
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    The Nun
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    Johnny English Strikes Again
Selefu
BBC
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort