The Monitor :: Members Of Parliament should get serious
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Saturday 24 August 2019, 11:44 am.
Banners
Members Of Parliament should get serious

When the current Parliament session began Speaker Gladys Kokorwe promised to crack whip and ensure that parliament business is not disrupted unnecessarily, as she had observed from the previous session, they had closed with a lot of Bills and Questions backlog.
By Monitor Editor Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Members Of Parliament should get serious








Even though we have seen on a number of occasions some members sent out and two having been suspended for a week, the just ended session was not different from the previous one. The only difference was that this time around after wasting lots of time, the house decided to spend the whole night in parliament. Yes, we applaud the legislators for debating and passing five Bills overnight, but at the taxpayer’s cost.

All members, parliament staff, ministers’ drivers and indeed many others worked overtime which they have to be paid for. This is of course in addition to the cost of food consumed during the night. These costs could have been totally avoided had the house done exactly what they promised those who elected them. On many occasions, members would ask questions and not show up. MP Ignatius Moswaane  for instance on one occasion had submitted 12 motions, which were each, read out

Banners

while he did not attend.

The speakership would not allow suggestions by members to skip the item. We call on the Speaker to abolish such practices as they are of no value.

On the same day, a motion by Ndaba Gaolathe could not be debated because the quorum collapsed. That is another problem. If members were committed to developing this country, they would not just walk out when there are a lot of Bills, Motions and Questions to attend to.

There were days when not enough number of members would show up leading to no business at all. In addition, members would sometimes debate non-issues which they know they should not debate in parliament. Truth is a lot of hours have been put to waste by  members across the aisle.  If they can debate and pass five Bills in one night, why can’t they finish all business set for a particular session of parliament?

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 15 Aug 2016, 14:37 pm
Mon 08 Aug 2016, 11:32 am
Mon 01 Aug 2016, 12:07 pm
Mon 25 Jul 2016, 12:49 pm
Wed 20 Jul 2016, 12:39 pm
Mon 11 Jul 2016, 12:59 pm
Mon 04 Jul 2016, 15:21 pm
Mon 27 Jun 2016, 12:34 pm
Mon 20 Jun 2016, 07:30 am
Mon 13 Jun 2016, 12:27 pm
Mon 06 Jun 2016, 12:40 pm
Mon 30 May 2016, 12:52 pm
Mon 23 May 2016, 11:58 am
Mon 16 May 2016, 12:29 pm
Mon 09 May 2016, 15:46 pm
Tue 03 May 2016, 15:23 pm
Mon 25 Apr 2016, 11:04 am
Mon 18 Apr 2016, 11:29 am
Mon 11 Apr 2016, 11:19 am
Mon 04 Apr 2016, 14:41 pm
Mon 21 Mar 2016, 11:37 am
Mon 14 Mar 2016, 13:47 pm
Mon 07 Mar 2016, 15:09 pm
Mon 29 Feb 2016, 12:36 pm
Mon 22 Feb 2016, 16:26 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Sunday 25 Aug - Sunday 25 Aug :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Sunday 25 Aug - Sunday 25 Aug :::
Selefu
Masisi, Khama
Banners

gramstalker

Banners