The Monitor :: Stop Trivialising Serious Issues
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
Stop Trivialising Serious Issues

Different newspapers and news outlets have been reporting on murder cases and an array of violent crimes that led to a number of lobby groups and individuals raising their voices against Gender Based Violence (GBV).
By Monitor Editor Mon 10 Sep 2018, 11:52 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Stop Trivialising Serious Issues








There are several non-governmental organisations, which lobby against GBV, and of recent, a number of individuals have lashed out at some of these organisations, citing discrimination, specifically against men.  A recent tragedy where a young prisons officer was allegedly murdered by his girlfriend in Serowe had a lot of people talking. 

While some were showing support for the family of the young man during their time of grief, others were on another level. Some women decided to defend the suspect, making assumptions that the deceased must have done something to the suspect for her to resort to fatal violence. While many seem to mistake GBV for being violence against women and girls only, it is not! 

It is violence against any gender, and it should be condemned at all levels, regardless of the gender of the perpetrator!  GBV can be defined as ‘violence directed at an individual based on his or her sex, gender identity, or expression of socially defined norms of masculinity and femininity’. Nothing in that definition suggests that the murder of a man or boy-child is less of a crime or that it not regarded as gender based violence. 

It does, and it also deserves the same attention just as GBV where the victims are women and children. Disappointedly, some women, decided to get into defensive

Banners

mode and minimise the grievous crime committed, just because the victim is a man.  That is shameful, especially, at a time when the country is faced with the serious scourge that is GBV. 

It should be tackled from both angles.  Each and every human-being has a right to life, which is protected by the law, and this right is for both men and women, and girls and boys, so it should be nothing that suggests that if violence is committed against a certain gender it carries more weight than the one committed by the other. 

Yes, some NGOs and lobby groups, tend to concentrate more of their efforts on violence against women and girls, but that is only because statistics show that they are the ones who mostly fall victim to GBV, and also that they are more vulnerable. A lot of information on GBV has been disseminated to different communities in an effort to curb GBV, but the society also needs to do its part in ensuring that the fight against GBV is realised

If we continue to make irresponsible comments about issues of GBV, we are basically digressing further from solving the problem. Let us come together as a nation of both men and women, and girls and boys, to eliminate this evil called GBV.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 03 Sep 2018, 10:27 am
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 11:58 am
Mon 20 Aug 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 13 Aug 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 06 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 23 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Mon 09 Jul 2018, 11:51 am
Mon 25 Jun 2018, 16:12 pm
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 11:24 am
Mon 11 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Mon 04 Jun 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 28 May 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 21 May 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 14 May 2018, 11:56 am
Mon 07 May 2018, 11:38 am
Mon 30 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Apr 2018, 11:55 am
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 11:49 am
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 17:54 pm
Mon 05 Mar 2018, 17:58 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 22 Sep - Saturday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 22 Sep - Saturday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort