Mmegi Online :: Botswana should keep nation alert on listeriosis
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 13 November 2018, 16:21 pm.
Banners
Botswana should keep nation alert on listeriosis

Following the announcement by the South African government that it has traced and identified the source of the listeriosis, Botswana government moved swiftly to suspend the import of ready-to-eat meat products from South Africa.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Botswana should keep nation alert on listeriosis








It said that the affected products include products from Enterprise and Rainbow. These also include any other products manufactured or packaged for other retailers by Enterprise and Rainbow. The government also embarked on a massive recall of these products as fear for listeriosis continues to hit Botswana.

This decision is commendable. However, the government must ensure that it does more than this to ensure the safety of its people. It is reported that the listeria poisoning has killed 180 people in South Africa.

This is a big number for Botswana population. We do not want any casualties. It is important for government to make sure that no processed meat products from the specified manufacturer enter through the borders of this country. Security checks at all entry points must be enhanced and improved.

With the country’s over reliance on South African products, the risk is high. We cannot afford any hiccups and cost of bearing the burden comes with the outbreak. Officials of the ministries of Health and Wellness and Agricultural Production and Food Security must be on high alert. It is said that listeria is but a

Banners

treatable and preventable disease. But it would need a well-functioning health system if it were to break locally. This calls on authorities to be ready.

They should also conduct inspections at the local meat processing outlets and factories to ascertain that there has not been any contamination. Local supermarkets, many of which are mostly South African chain stores, should be monitored to ensure that they have followed the mandatory order from the government by pulling out of shelves products from the South African companies - Enterprise and Rainbow. It is a fact that most parents pack these products as lunch meals for their schoolgoing children. This practice happens across the country, even in remote areas.

 This calls for proper dissemination of information to ensure that people are educated on this issue. Government should also continue to collaborate with South Africa to monitor the situation and give regular updates.

We still emphasise that some of these ready-to-eat products can be produced locally. The problem is over-reliance on South Africa for everything under the sun. Listeriosis outbreak in our southern neighbour is a wake up call.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am
Fri 02 Mar 2018, 17:33 pm
Fri 23 Feb 2018, 09:30 am
Fri 16 Feb 2018, 14:57 pm
Fri 09 Feb 2018, 12:25 pm
Fri 02 Feb 2018, 15:55 pm
Fri 26 Jan 2018, 16:03 pm
Fri 19 Jan 2018, 15:22 pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 13:59 pm
Fri 22 Dec 2017, 10:39 am
Thu 21 Dec 2017, 13:51 pm
Wed 20 Dec 2017, 17:33 pm
Tue 19 Dec 2017, 16:23 pm
Fri 15 Dec 2017, 15:16 pm
Thu 14 Dec 2017, 16:40 pm
Wed 13 Dec 2017, 16:29 pm
Tue 12 Dec 2017, 15:42 pm
Thu 07 Dec 2017, 13:37 pm
Wed 06 Dec 2017, 17:21 pm
Tue 05 Dec 2017, 13:12 pm
Fri 01 Dec 2017, 15:17 pm
Thu 30 Nov 2017, 17:37 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 17:28 pm
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:18 pm
Fri 24 Nov 2017, 17:19 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
  • Previous
    Peppermint
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Peppermint
    Halloween
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
Selefu
Mugabe
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort