Mmegi Blogs :: Maun writerly things
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 15 December 2017, 17:56 pm.
Banners
Maun writerly things

Excuse the late notice on this but if you are in Maun today and are interested in writing and publishing get yourself to the Adansonia Hotel.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 17 Nov 2017, 18:35 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: Maun writerly things








The Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development is sponsoring a workshop along with the Bessie Head Heritage Trust (BHHT). The title of the workshop is ‘Preparing Your Work for Submission to a Publisher’. Each day’s sessions begin at 8am where participants must register. It is free!

On Friday the topics to be covered include:

- Applying for the Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development (MYSC) grants for literary works given by the Maun MYSC

- Applying for an ISBN/ISSN given by Ms Neo Mosweu from the Botswana National Library Service.

- Creative Writing: Strategies for Generating Ideas given by Tiro Sebina from the University of Botswana and BHHT

- Creative Writing: Shaping Fiction given by Tiro Sebina from the University of Botswana

Saturday topics include:

- Creative Writing: Adventures in composing poetry given by Tiro Sebina from the University of Botswana and BHHT

- Preparing your Manuscript for Submission given by Leloba Molema from BHHT

- Publishing Options given by Yours Truly

- Your rights as a Writer given by Yours Truly

 

We have done a similar workshop in Gaborone and I can assure you that the information that a writer will receive during these sessions will be invaluable. It is not something you will want to miss. If you are around in Maun, you really should clear your schedule and attend.

Maun International Arts Festival Updates

Things have been very quiet around this year’s Maun International Arts Festival usually held at the end of October, but finally things are getting back into action. The organisers, Poetavango, have advertised that the festival will take place from November 28 until December 2

Banners

this year.

Part of the festival includes the awards ceremony for the winners of the Poetavango Award for Short Fiction 2016/17. The winners have been announced and they are:

First place: Basego Oratile Segaetsho for her story Resilience of the Burchells. She wins P3,000

Second Place: Pelonomi Pelonomi for her story Blind Faith, she wins P2,000

Third Place: Kealeboga Melejane for her story Journey, who wins P1,000

Other stories that made the shortlist are:

Thou Shall Follow Moses by Nkululeko Diteko

Drought Relief by Lebogang Motlalekgosi

Musings by Boitumelo Chamme

Blessed Assurance by Bothepa T. Molwane

The stories were judged by three international authors: Zainab Priya Dala (South Africa), Akhil Katyal (India), and Christine Yohannes (Ethiopia).

Congratulations to the winners!

The creative writing workshop in Maun is coming up on November 17-18 at the Adansonia Hotel. The theme of the workshop is “Creative Industries: A Vehicle for Sustainable Development.” The workshop runs from 8am. to 5pm each day and lunches and teas will be provided. The workshop is free and open to everyone.

The programme features the following speakers and topics:

MYSC Maun on how to apply for MYSC grants for literary works;

Mosweu of the Botswana National Library Service on applying for ISBN/ISSN;

Sebina of the University of Botswana and the Bessie Head Heritage Trust on ‘Strategies for Generating Ideas’, ‘Shaping Fiction’ and ‘Adventures in Composing Poetry’;

Molema of the University of Botswana and the BHHT on how to prepare your manuscript for submission to a competition or a publisher;

Lauri Kubuitsile, award-winning local writer, on publishing options available and what your rights are as a writer.

Please share this post and the information about the workshop.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 17 Nov 2017, 18:35 pm
Fri 10 Nov 2017, 17:48 pm
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 11:18 am
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 13:09 pm
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 14:39 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 12:48 pm
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 12:31 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 10:34 am
Fri 22 Sep 2017, 15:38 pm
Fri 15 Sep 2017, 13:22 pm
Fri 08 Sep 2017, 16:22 pm
Fri 01 Sep 2017, 14:25 pm
Fri 25 Aug 2017, 16:09 pm
Fri 18 Aug 2017, 15:40 pm
Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:32 pm
Fri 04 Aug 2017, 14:55 pm
Fri 28 Jul 2017, 15:37 pm
Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:22 pm
Fri 14 Jul 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 17:46 pm
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 18:57 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 14:43 pm
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 18:17 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 16:52 pm
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 16:25 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 15 Dec 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.2881
1 GBP = Pula   13.8122
1 EUR = Pula   12.1212
1 YEN = Pula   0.0917
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7624
1 Pula = USD   0.0972
1 Pula = GBP   0.0724
1 Pula = EUR   0.0825
1 Pula = YEN   10.91
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3117
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 16 Dec - Saturday 16 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 16 Dec - Saturday 16 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 16 Dec - Saturday 16 Dec :::
Selefu
And that comrades is the BMD strategy. Any questions Media! Where the hell are they
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort