Mmegi Online :: Kudos to Kgoroba, but...
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Sunday 18 February 2018, 21:00 pm.
Banners
Kudos to Kgoroba, but...

Alliance for Progressives (AP) Mogoditshane Member of Parliament, Sedirwa Kgoroba last week apologised to the Deputy Speaker, Kagiso Molatlhegi for hitting him with a water bottle in Parliament last year.
By Mmegi Editor Wed 15 Nov 2017, 19:06 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Kudos to Kgoroba, but...








Kgoroba threw a 500ml water bottle in Parliament that hit Molatlhegi during a heated debate between members of the ruling party and the opposition.

Kgoroba was later summoned to the court to answer to charges of common assault after Molatlhegi reported the incident to the police. On Thursday, the Speaker of the National Assembly, Gladys Kokorwe read Kgoroba’s apology in Parliament before the charges before Magistrate’s Court were dropped.

We applaud Kgoroba for being man enough to admit he was wrong and wrote an apology that was read in Parliament.

Leaders should do such things that will inspire their countrymen to know that it is okay to apologise when you are wrong regardless of your political or any other differences.

We also applaud Molatlhegi for finding it fit to reconcile with Kgoroba and have charges dropped. It speaks volumes about you as a leader that you believe in building societies and people should be able to learn from you that conflicts can be resolved amicably.

We have heard Kgoroba and other members of AP stating that they would never be in the Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) with the current Botswana Movement for Democracy (BMD) leadership because of incidents that happened in Bobonong. As much as we condemn violence, we challenge Kgoroba to lead advocacy for peace between the two warring parties.

If Molatlhegi could forgive Kgoroba, the latter

Banners

could also do likewise and forgive his former comrades in the BMD leadership. It took great men and women such as former South Africa president, Nelson Mandela and others to forgive those who persecuted them during the struggle for liberation.

Apartheid was declared a crime against humanity, but Mandela did not seek revenge against his persecutors. This is a great lesson for humanity.

Kgoroba and company can learn a great deal from Mandela. It is evident that the masses behind opposition parties believe they need to work together in order to give a credible challenge to the ruling Botswana Democratic Party (BDP). It is evident that Batswana want to see all the opposition parties working together and Kgoroba has proven to be the right person to preach reconciliation.

Some Batswana who voted for him and other AP members are left in the lurch and would love to see him make that bold step and make peace with the BMD leadership for the greater benefit of opposition party followers.

It would look very odd for Kgoroba to continue vowing never to work with those he believe have wronged him before when he believes an apology is enough to solve a conflict.

Today’s thought

“Reconciliation requires changes of heart and spirit, as well as social and economic change. It requires symbolic as well as practical action.”

 

– Malcolm Fraser

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Wed 15 Nov 2017, 19:06 pm
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 16:48 pm
Fri 10 Nov 2017, 15:20 pm
Wed 08 Nov 2017, 11:37 am
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 10:06 am
Thu 02 Nov 2017, 09:17 am
Wed 01 Nov 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 31 Oct 2017, 11:24 am
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Thu 26 Oct 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 11:49 am
Tue 24 Oct 2017, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:59 am
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 11:58 am
Tue 17 Oct 2017, 11:52 am
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 12 Oct 2017, 09:01 am
Wed 11 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Tue 10 Oct 2017, 11:41 am
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 11:16 am
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 18:28 pm
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 17:18 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:21 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Monday, 19 Feb 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.4787
1 GBP = Pula   13.2979
1 EUR = Pula   11.7647
1 YEN = Pula   0.0890
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8130
1 Pula = USD   0.1055
1 Pula = GBP   0.0752
1 Pula = EUR   0.085
1 Pula = YEN   11.24
1 Pula = ZAR   1.23
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 19 Feb - Monday 19 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 19 Feb - Monday 19 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 19 Feb - Monday 19 Feb :::
Selefu
Hey! That
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort