The fall of UDC's Young Turks


The 2019 general elections have claimed the scalps of very influential opposition, when it was least expected.

The three Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) council candidates are Arafat Khan of Borakalalo ward in Molepolole North, Phenyo Segokgo of Sefoke ward in Tlokweng and Kagiso Thutlwe of Village ward in Gaborone. They did not see the losses coming and the defeat was unexpected for many of their followers. The three Young Turks are also newsmakers.

They first stepped in council chambers during the 2014 general elections when the UDC contested general elections for the first time. Segokgo and Thutlwe were elected Gaborone mayor and South East South District Council chairperson respectively. Khan on the other hand became a force reckon with at Borakalalo ward in Molepolole North.

Editor's Comment
Molepolole unrest: Urgent attention on missing person cases

From Jakoba's mysterious disappearance on November 9 to the grim discovery of his remains at Mosinki Lands, a gap in the response mechanisms of the police and village leadership has been laid bare. The community's anger is evident, seen in the attack on Bakang Masole, the man found driving Jakoba's taxi and the main suspect, and the subsequent riot. Residents express discontent, citing a troubling trend of missing persons cases often...

Have a Story? Send Us a tip
arrow up