Serowe Sub Cllrs not moved by Minister's order

Minister Frans Van De Westhuizen
Minister Frans Van De Westhuizen

SEROWE: Serowe sub-district council has vowed to stand by the newly elected chairperson Lesedi Leepetswe, despite the minister of Minister of Local Government and Rural Development reinstating the ousted chairperson Mpho Kooreme.

Kooreme was recently removed through a motion of no confidence where out of the 22 members of the sub-district council house, 17 voted against him. He was supported by only five. 

The House then elected Leepetswe to lead the council until the general elections. Leepetswe served briefly before he was removed by an order from the minister Frans Van De Westhuizen. 

Editor's Comment
CoA brings sanity to DIS/DCEC long-standing feud

This decision follows the raiding of the office of the former Director General of the DCEC, Tymon Katlholo early 2022 and his staff officer by the DIS operatives who reportedly took files that they had targeted.After all back and forth arguments, the CoA has set the record straight giving an invaluable lesson to the DIS that it was no super security organ and it does not have any powers to cogently supervise other security organs including the...

Have a Story? Send Us a tip
arrow up