Banners
<
Banners

Latest News

Former spy chief, Isaac Kgosi is challenging the State in his criminal...
The Block 8 clinic-based nurse who was said to have tested positive fo...
While businesses and individuals are grappling with challenges brought...
Mileage Group (Pty) Ltd, an investment and international company has o...
Banners
Banners
Monday, March 30, 2020
There are many instances where rogue employers have successfully pushed out that unwanted and increasingly unwelcome employee. 
Monday, March 23, 2020
Colleagues, we need to be clear and consistent with how we interpret and apply the terms that we use in our policies.
Monday, March 16, 2020
The reality is that in the process of decision making, line managers, supervisors, department heads, and company executives tend to look at expediency over equity.
Monday, March 09, 2020
The overlap between the HR function and the operational roles will always be there.
Monday, March 02, 2020
Some of the questions asked about the series on the development and application of employment policies suggest a fear or concern relating to conflict of interest.
Monday, February 24, 2020
Last week we looked at some of the basic clauses that are expected to be covered in a typical employment policy document.
Monday, February 17, 2020
Employment policies are tedious.
Monday, February 10, 2020
We have spent most of these first few weeks of the year looking at personal growth, professional development and self-management type of issues, and they are an importa...
Monday, February 03, 2020
Have you heard of the feedback sandwich? That is what we want to talk about today. Feedback is not easy to give, and certainly not easy to take, but we have to regard it ...
Monday, January 27, 2020
 “We feel the employer is exploiting us when it comes to pay.
Monday, January 20, 2020
I was trying to find an attention-grabbing headline. I feel like what I have isn’t quite it, but if you are reading, hopefully you will finish the piece.
Monday, January 13, 2020
 While this column addresses the corporate side of people management as opposed to the actual people themselves, there are times when exceptions can be made, like th...
Monday, December 16, 2019
This is the question that has reverberated through my inbox since I started talking about talent management, with readers sharing their various frustrations with ‘u...
Monday, December 09, 2019
Previously we compared general training, or maybe you call it something else like capacity building or development, but yes, we compared training with talent management t...
Monday, December 02, 2019
Some of us use these terms interchangeably, you know, training and development, talent management and talent development.
Monday, November 04, 2019
Well, if you are the employer, the immediate answer is a big yes, because you want to know that you can trust your team.
Monday, October 14, 2019
We have said a lot so far, no just in this column but on a global scale, about how useful performance management systems are in motivating employees, aligning behaviour...
Tuesday, October 08, 2019
We’ve come a long way in understanding and embracing the concept of performance management, at both corporate and individual levels, and the best part of this pro...
Monday, September 23, 2019
I know you’ll say you knew this. It’s obvious isn’t it? Of course the quality of the working environment affects performance. And this is not just about...
Monday, September 16, 2019
Before we really get stuck into performance management and what it comprises, we may want to acknowledge how some of those components of performance management systems ...
Monday, September 09, 2019
We have been looking at recruitment and selection for several weeks now and having talked about induction/orientation in the last instalment, why don’t we pick the ...
Monday, August 12, 2019
Background check is another term for this. And yes, I know that many do leave this out of the whole selection process, but there are still enough employers who place such...
Monday, August 05, 2019
‘Psychometric’ is a term coined from the Greek words for mental and measurement. And, by the way, even though there are so many different brands of assessment...
Monday, July 29, 2019
With the growing use of psychometric assessments in selection, maybe before we talk about the competency based interview we can acknowledge the practice of some employers...
Monday, June 24, 2019
Everyone wants that dream employee (or wants to be the dream employee), you know, the one with an impressive combination of complex problem-solving capabilities, critical...

Editor's Comment

  • 01 Jun 2020
Banners

Selefu

Can anything good come out of Africa?
Banners

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper
Banners