Latest News

Following his suspension from Parliament, the Leader of Opposition (LO...
FRANCISTOWN: The City of Francistown Council’s (COFC) town clerk...
Less than a month after Bakgatla-Ba-Kgafela Kgosikgolo Kgafela Kgafela...
The Law Society of Botswana (LSB) has rejected the proposed Legal Prac...

Chess, Thebe Win Big At BNSC Awards

The chess sporting code made its presence felt at the Botswana National Sports Commission (BNSC) sports Awards on Saturday at the Ba Isago Convention Centre when it scooped three awards which are the most won by a single sporting code at the awards.

Through the feat, Botswana Chess Federation (BCF) President, Mothokomedi Thabano took home the Sports Administrator of the Year, Besa Masaite won the Junior Female of the Year and the BCF clinched the National Sports Association of the year.

The BCF has had a successful year, from acquiring a sponsor for the first time in a decade and being named one of the most compliant organisations with its affiliating bodies. “This is a proof of our hard-work and I want to thank the BNSC for recognising this,” said Thabano in his appreciation speech.

Baboloki Thebe took home three awards of which two were individual awards while the third was as part of the men’s 4 x 4 relay team. Botswana Press Agency (BOPA) took won three awards followed by Duma FM that took home two.

The Junior Sportsman award went to James Freeman of swimming, Non-Citizen of the year went to Sean Irish

of rugby, Group code of the year went to Botswana Tertiary Students Sports Association (BOTESSA), Umpire of the year went to Mpho Bakwadi of Karate, Sportswoman of the year went to Cristine Botlogetswe of Athletics, Sportswoman with disabilities of the year went to Gorata, Sportsman with disabilities of the year went to Bose Mokgwathi and Coach of the year went to Mogomotsi Otsetswe of Athletics.

The highlight awards of the evening were the Chairperson’s Award, which was given to three individuals being Debswana, Malebogo Molefe and Ross Branch.

Another important award of the night was the Sportsperson of the Year which was bagged by Baboloki Thebe.

The Vice President Slumber Tsogwane, The minister of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development, Tshekedi Khama and the former President Ian Khama attended the event.

Tsogwane and Tshekedi Khama presented the Chairperson’s prize which was awarded towards the end of the proceedings of the night.




The steep fight against corruption

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper