Latest News

The Mares training camp is waiting anxiously for a COVID-19 re-test re...
Following the intervention of FIFA, Gaborone United (GU) will receive ...
FRANCISTOWN: Premier league outfit, Sua Flamingoes have appointed form...
Sparks are expected to fly when Botswana National Sport Commission (BN...

BNF enters difficult primaries phase

BNF supporters
The coming month will be one of the busiest for opposition parties as some of their constituencies will go for parliamentary primary elections.

Already tension amongst members is brewing as the date of the primaries looms larger than ever.

Over the weekend, Botswana National Front (BNF) met to finalise the vetting process.  In certain areas, some have started to de-campaign others. Only a few are safe in their areas, which include Gaborone Bonnington North held by Duma Boko, Tonota constituency held by Pono Moatlhodi, and a new candidate for Goodhope-Mabule in the hands of Dr Patrick Molotsi.

Goodhope-Mabule MP Kgosi Lotlamoreng II has not expressed interest to contest. Molotsi is considered a strong candidate.

Molotsi is an educationist who played a huge role in transformation of tertiary education in the country. He is former chief executive officer of Human Resource Development Council (HRDC), a post he left in 2015.

Mmegi has learnt that Lotlamoreng II would not be contesting because of his health problem. In Kanye South constituency, Abram Kesupile will battle it out with Ditiroyaone Kutlo, Victor Phologolo and Osenotse Mabote.

Kesupile has been the area MP for the area for 10 years and he is now looking for third term. The other three contestants might split the votes and give him a chance to win the primaries.  Kanye South has been a stronghold for the BNF.  For Mmathethe-Molapowabojwang  Prince Dibeela who is the BNF vice president will battle it out with Barolong Lemmenyane. Lemmenyane is a former goalkeeper for Township Rollers and the national team Zebras. He

is now a businessman.

Lemmenyane has a football academy in the constituency. In Molepolole North constituency, the area MP Mohammed Khan will battle it out with Kaboyaone Sedimo.

Khan won the constituency for the first time in 2014 after struggling to win it from Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) in numerous attempts.  Khan is seeking a second term to represent the area.  For Tlokweng constituency, Kenneth Segokgo who recently won the election will face Letshwiti Tutwane. Tutwane is a former journalist and now a lecturer at University of Botswana. Segokgo won the election in 2017 and has only been in Parliament for a year so far.

At Takatokwane constituency, Gilbert Nagafela will face Boingotlo Moeng. Nagafela is the former MP for the area, but he lost the area to BDP twice. 

In Gaborone South constituency, the battle will be between Justin Hunyepa, Naledi Monnakgosi and Nelson Ramaotwana. Efforts by some constituency members to try to block Hunyepa from contesting failed as the BNF central committee on Saturday said he has a right to contest like any other candidate regardless of where he stays.

At Kgalagadi South constituency Micus Chimbombi will face John Toto. This will be one of the most interesting battles since Toto is the former MP for the area and a royal. Chimbombi is the former permanent secretary for Ministry of Agriculture and has been reportedly busy reviving BNF structures in Kgalagadi.




Election Petitioners

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper