Latest News

Tensions have since heightened between truck drivers ferrying goods to...
It is evident that the nation has heeded the call by health officials ...
An informative consultative COVID-19 food relief meeting organised by ...
With its many negatives ranging from depleting economic resources, cha...

Local Athletes Gear Up For AUSC Awards

Local athletes have been nominated in different categories for the African Union Sports Council (AUSC) Region 5 third edition of Regional Annual Sports Awards scheduled to take place in Johannesburg on May 26.

Botswana’s 400 metres sensation, Karabo Sibanda stands a chance to win three prestigious awards. He has been nominated for the Sports person of the year, junior sportsman of the year as well as sports team of the year through the 4 x 400 metres relay team. His national team coach, Mogomotsi Otsetswe has also been recognised and will battle for the coach of the year award alongside other regional coaches including Beston Chambeshi who led Zambia to the finals of the Under-20 World Cup.


Complete list of nominees: Junior Sportsman Of The Year

1. Teboho Lelimo, Chess, Lesotho

2. Thandolwethu Motsa, Taekwondo, Kingdom eSwatini.

3. Delano Muller, Kickboxing, Namibia

4. Karabo Sibanda, Athletics, Botswana

5. Kennedy Luchembe, Athletics , Zambia


Junior Sportswoman Of The Year

1. Tshegofatso Tsiang, Tennis, Botswana

2. ‘Malillo Phera, Chess, Lesotho

3. Charlize Van Zyl, Gymnastics, Namibia

4. Carlota Munave, Taekwondo, Kingdom eSwatini

5. Lubuuto Bwalya, Chess, Zambia

6. Tanyaradzwa Muzinda, Motorcross,  Zimbabwe


Sportsman Of The Year

1. Ofentse Bakwadi, Karate, Botswana

2. Peter Banda, Football, Malawi.

3. Julius Indongo, Boxing, Namibia,

4. Luvo Manyonga, Athletics South


5. Sibusiso Matsenjwa, Athletics,

    Kingdom eSwatini.

6. Patson Daka, Football, Zambia.

7. Samson Muripo, Karate, Zimbabwe


Sportswoman Of The Year

1. Onkemetse Francis, Chess, Botswana

2. Neheng Khatala, Athletics, Lesotho.

3. Tabitha Chawinga, Football, Malawi.

4. Helalia Johannes, Athletics,


5. Caster Semenya, Athletics, South


6. Phumlile Ndzinisa, Athletics, Kingdom eSwatini

7. Mupopo Kabange, Athletics, Zambia

8. Helen Costa Sinclair, Bodybuilding,  Zimbabwe

Sportsman Of The Year

With A Disability

1. Keatlaretse Mabote, Athletics,


2. Johannes Nambala, Athletics, Namibia.

3. Dyan Buis, Athletics, South Africa

4. Mcebo Dludlu, Athletics, Kingdom eSwatini

5. Elford Moyo, Wheelchair racing,



Sportswoman Of The Year With A Disability

1. Nonofo Zingwa, Special Olympics,  Botswana

2. Lahja Ishitile, Athletics, Namibia.

3. Illse Hayes, Athletics, South Africa.

4. Phenduliwe Mavuso, Athletics,

    Kingdom eSwatini

5. Margaret Bangajena, Wheelchair

    racing, Zimbabwe


Sports Team Of The Year

1. Botswana 4 x 400 metres Men Relay,  Athletics, Botswana

2. Namibian U20 National Team, Rugby, Namibia

3. Springbok Sevens Team, Rugby, South Africa

4. Sihlangu Semnikati - Football,

    Kingdom eSwatini

5. Zambia Football U20 National Team, Football, Zambia

6. Zimbabwe Rugby Sevens, Rugby,



Coach Of The Year

1. Mogomotsi Otsetswe, Athletics,


2. Griffin Saenda Junior, Football,


3. Nestor Tobias, Boxing, Namibia

4. Jean Verster, Athletics, South Africa

5. Thabo Vilakati, Football Kingdom eSwatini

6. Beston Chambeshi, Football, Zambia


Journalist Of The Year

1. Ramajake Monamane, Lesotho

2. OG Molefe, South Africa

3. Ntokozo Magongo, Kingdom eSwatini

4. Mathews Kabamba, Zambia


Sportsperson Of The Year

1. Karabo Sibanda, Athletics, Botswana

2. Bernadetta Mzika, Football, Malawi,

3. Luvo Manyonga, Athletics South Africa.

4. Tony Tsabedze, Football, Kingdom  eSwatini.

5. Samson Muripo, Karate, Zimbabwe




Ka Mme Mma Boipelego

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper